Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 05:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 89
Default Q6600 overclock to 3.0 GHz

Hey guys,

When my computer gets here, I want to be able to overclock it to 3.0 GHz. I got a HDT cooling solution so I am well prepared. Now the only thing is the memory. I intially ordered some Redlines, but they are currently out of stock. I do not plan to go past a 3.0 GHz overclock on my CPU, so which memory is good enough? Would PC2-6400 with latency 4 timings be perfect?

I heard that there is no point in getting PC2-8000+ unless I want to get some big overclocks like an E8400 to 4.0Ghz or a Q6600 to 3.6 Ghz.

Anyways, I am unsure of hat to pick. If PC2-6400 is perfect, then I can get that with tight timings and have overall better performance.

What do you guys think?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 05:45 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,090

My System Specs

Default

IIRC, the Q6600 has a 8x multiplier. So you'd be at 8x375. DDR2-800 mem is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 06:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 89
Default

What does IIRC mean? Also I am pretty sure the Q6600 has a 9x multiplier.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 06:15 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

IIRC = If I Recall

It's a 9.

I think it's best to go with 1000+ Check out the Mushkin Ascent's either the 8000 or the 8500.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 06:18 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Even if you don't strictly need the memory headroom, you can usually up the memory divider ratio to run your RAM faster, even if you haven't raised your FSB speed. The real-world benefits tend to be limited, but they exist. But yes, strictly speaking, DDR2-800 would work for your goals just fine.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 06:44 PM
joeperson's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 238
Default

I did 9x333 on stock voltage and some really slow default memory timings. Cheap 6400 will do fine. The only thing that may be a problem would be the stability of the q6600 at a given voltage. I've seen older boards require a little extra vcore to keep things stable.
__________________
Q6600 3.0GHZ (9x333) stockV | ATI 5850 | OCZ Platinum 4GB PC2-6400 DDR2 5.4.4.15 1.9V | Silverstone Raven RV01 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Corsair Professional HX750W | Windows 7 | Crossbow mounted Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | LG W2242TQ-BF 22" | Samsung 2253BW 22"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 06:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 89
Default

Alright, with that being said, should I get some top of the line PC2-6400 RAM? Also, is that Corsair memory that comes with the cooler worth it? I might as well also mention: What is the difference between T1 and T2 in memory timings and which is better?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 06:52 PM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 447
Default

8x400 = PC2-6400 area.
9x333 = PCR-5300 area.

You are fine with a PC2-6400 kit. The Redline is only good if you want to go with high fsb (up to 500) or with asynchronous memory (using a different multiplier instead of 1:1). I'm using a set of Redline myself with my Q6600 overclocked to 3.825 GHz.
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 07:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xilikon View Post
8x400 = PC2-6400 area.
9x333 = PCR-5300 area.

You are fine with a PC2-6400 kit. The Redline is only good if you want to go with high fsb (up to 500) or with asynchronous memory (using a different multiplier instead of 1:1). I'm using a set of Redline myself with my Q6600 overclocked to 3.825 GHz.
Okay thank you for confirming. :) if you have time, could you possibly answer the other 2 questions in the above post?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 07:41 PM
joeperson's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 238
Default

Question 2 of three: No, unless you want to do memory overclocking.
__________________
Q6600 3.0GHZ (9x333) stockV | ATI 5850 | OCZ Platinum 4GB PC2-6400 DDR2 5.4.4.15 1.9V | Silverstone Raven RV01 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Corsair Professional HX750W | Windows 7 | Crossbow mounted Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | LG W2242TQ-BF 22" | Samsung 2253BW 22"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes