Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2008, 10:39 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default How Much Longer for DDR2?

I've been looking to upgrade my aging computer I built right around the time the Q6600 was just released. Because my computer has only 2GB of DDR2-667 RAM in it, I'd like to go up to something a bit more higher end, say 4GB or maybe 8GB of DDR2-800 or higher.

But then I was thinking about how long DDR2 has been around for and if I'd get my money's worth if I bought even just 4GB of it now. Money isn't too big an issue, so I would definitely go and buy a new motherboard and some DDR3-1333 if it means a better long-term investment.

Basically, is it worth it to stay with DDR2 for a bit longer, or should I "jump on the bandwagon" with DDR3?

Yes, I am, most indeed, a noob.

EDIT: Oh, yes, they will certainly be Mushkin's.
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2008, 10:52 PM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default

DDR3 is dropping every day, but its still roughly double the price for nowhere near double the performance.

DDR2 still has at least a year or two before DDR3 completly replaces it.

Go with a nice 4 gig PC-6400 or PC-8500 kit, thay can be had for under or around $100.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 03:43 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmaPC View Post
How Much Longer for DDR2
NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL F3-10666CL9T-3GBNQ 3GB DDR3 3X1GB DDR3-1333 CL 9-9-9-24 Triple Channel Memory Kit - F3-10666CL9T-3GBNQ In Canada.

You tell me

DDR3 is defiantly starting to take over (or at least become mainstream).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 09:17 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

I would just go with a DDR2 kit. It is best to buy matched sets of memory (like the dual channel kits typically bought now), so that you have one stick of ram per channel on the motherboard. But the new Intel cpus and boards have triple channel memory interface, so you will start seeing triple channel DDR3 kits become more common soon. Matched sets typically result in better system stability.

So lets say that you buy a new motherboard now and DDR3 Dual channel memory to go with it; if you upgrade to one of the newer Intel platforms needing three sticks of ram, you will have to buy an additional stick of ram, which won't be matched to the two older sticks you have.

Such is the life of a computer upgrader, and some people will argue with my logic for sure but your system is still pretty good so the ram upgrade should be fine. Since you mention that you are kinda new at this I will also mention that you need a 64-bit Operating System such as Vista 64-bit (Home, Ultimate, etc) to be able to use all 4GB of ram. If you don't your computer will only see around 3GB depending on your particular setup, since a 32 bit OS (ie. most Windows XP setups, many Vista setups that indicate "32-bit") does not have the capability to see all the ram you will be buying.

These Mushkins are pretty good: NCIX.com - Buy Mushkin HP PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 CL5-4-4-12 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit - 996587 In Canada. $90 at NCIX, or if you are in Southern Ontario Canada Computers has them for $85: Canada Computers - Memory > Desktop Memory > DDR2 800 PC2-6400+ : Mushkin HP2 6400 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 5-4-4-12 (1.8V) 240pins (996587).

I have had no issues with these modules myself if you were to make the jump. Mushkin Greg (on these forums and also NCIX) will also give you some advice if you were to tweak them.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 09:19 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

DDR2 has PLENTY of life left in it and I'm sure it'll be around for at least another 5 years.... don't forget DDR is STILL popular for a lot of people.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 11:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

to give you the long and short of it, if you want ddr3, your going to have to buy a new motherboard, so you'll have to add the cost factor for that in too. Now motherboards can be had pretty cheep (in the grand scheme of things) so this isnt a reaaaaly big deal, but what IS a big deal is that any board you buy today that supports ddr3 will be socket 775, great for your Q6600, but after dropping 4 -5 hundred on shiny new parts, your going to be sad to hear that for another 3 - 4 hundred you can soon get a shiny new intel nehalem proc (wich look quite promising i might add) only to find that the socket type isnt compatable with the board you just wasted a bunch of money on, just so you could get some newer ram that wont perform much better than what you already have.

so the short of it is... Stick with DDR2 for now, forget the upgrade you'll barely notice it. Save the 100 bucks you woulda spent for a total upgrade when the nehalem is released.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 07:41 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Thank you for your input, I've decided to just get 4GB of DDR2. Any links and advice you guys posted was a big help! Thanks!
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 12:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 23
Default

yea im in the same situation, plannin on gettin a q6600 ddr2 and upgrade in 3 years by then the now newly released generation core i7/cpus will be regular so i wouldn't have to punch myself for gettin ddr3 with a mobo that could not support that chip. Right now there might only be only a %3 increase with them ddr3's but we're supposed to wait another year or 2 for them to crank up the settings right but it ain't worth double the cost at the moment for the price per performance increase and new generation cpus coming out right now that would make my ddr3 mobo obsolete.

Last edited by angy; November 9, 2008 at 12:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 06:22 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

I personally got 4gb of ocz platinum 1000mhz for $55 with rebates, really to get ddr3 youll want an x58 board. To go with intel if you want sli you need a 790i which is a complete waste or to go with some amd sli board which isnt near the performance of the intel cpus. There are a few p45 boards that do ddr2 and ddr3 but its a compromise. Id rather get a $100 p45 and $200 q6600 right now and use ddr3 than spend $350 each on an i7 and x58 and ddr3. DDR2 will be the main memory standard for another 2 years or so and still be around for another 2-3 after that before it becomes like ddr where its only used in old systems and the price goes up because of the low numbers being made
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 08:04 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

^^This is true. Either way, I got some 4GB of Mushkin Ascent DDR2-800 @ 4-4-4-12, and so far I am very, very pleased. Perhaps in another two or three years I may consider upgrading board, CPU, and RAM all at once to get the full-fledged Nehalem experience, but thats two or three years from now.
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes