Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
View Poll Results: Which ram is best used for gaming
OCZ 3 15.79%
Corsair 7 36.84%
Crusial 0 0%
Kingston 0 0%
Mushkin 9 47.37%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 03:20 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,980

My System Specs

Default

ram is ram. I have no brand preference and buy whatever is the cheapest at the time.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 03:23 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
ram is ram. I have no brand preference and buy whatever is the cheapest at the time.
haha- because you burn yours out in a couple of weeks anyway
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 04:21 PM
Mushkin Rep.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oshawa,ON
Posts: 148
Default

I <3 my mushkins. From way back with the redline xp-4000 2x512MB (micron UTT , doing 580Mhz 2-2-2-6 3.7v warrantied)
To my ddr3 now.
Mushkin always honored the warranty, even though, looking back, it was my fault some of the ram died.

Even though now I have a bias, mushkin has always made great ram.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 01:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton. AB
Posts: 5
Default Whats up with Kingston

Sorry to resurrect an old thread. I've been out of the PC building game for about 15-years, so a little out of touch

I've taken the plunge with a i7 920 and had ordered Kingston 6GB DDR3-1333Mhz CL9 to go with it (KVR1333D3N9K3/6G). There's more to it than that obviously, but this isn't the 'look at my build' section.


Kingston used to be good memory when I was a pup. Now, seeing they get Zero votes, maybe I should re-think before it's too late??


My other option could be
Corsair 6GB XMS3-1333 PC3-10666 for a few dollars more (TR3X6G1333C9).


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 02:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton. AB
Posts: 5
Default

Replying to myself :)

I changed to the Corsairs anyway, seemed to be the same price and looks like the feeling here at least is that it's the better choice.

Great forums by the way, even if I do answer myself.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 03:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve44 View Post
Replying to myself :)

I changed to the Corsairs anyway, seemed to be the same price and looks like the feeling here at least is that it's the better choice.

Great forums by the way, even if I do answer myself.
Heh... welcome to the forums!!!

I'm not sure if anybody would come out and say that kingston ram is "bad", but they really haven't had much of a presence in enthusiasts circles lately, and with "name brand" DDR2 being soooo inexpensive the only folks putting stuff like kingston or adata into computers are system rebuilders.

We have however seen some lesser known names put forward DDR3 ram. I'm looking forward to seeing how they perform.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 05:24 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,980

My System Specs

Default

My Corsair XMS 1333MHz stuff overclocks like mud. Likely the worst overclocking ram I have ever owned, well maybe besides the Samsung TCCC crap back a few years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2009, 08:20 AM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

I have had excellent overclocking results with both Mushkin, and Crucial. But since I am not into heavy overclocking anymore, the Corsair I'm using right now is perfect. So as to which brand is good for gaming? all of them.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes