Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:02 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 736
Default 4GB Dual Channel or 8GB Single Channel

My motherboard, an Asus P5Q SE LGA775 ATX PCI-E EPU MB, has four DDR2 memory slots, with Dual-Channel architecture. Please correct me if i'm wrong, but does that mean that I can use them for four sticks @ single channel, or 2 x 2 sticks dual channel? or is it only dual channel? That part confuses me.

Anyways, I was planning on getting two OCZ 2P8004GK 2x2G PC2-6400 Platinum Kits. Do I need dual-channel capable RAM, or does any RAM run in dual-channel if I have two of the exact same type in each slot? With the two kits, I'll have four sticks of 2GB (all of the same type); so I was wondering if that RAM is capable of being used Dual-Channel. If so, i'd rather go 4GB dual-channel, but if not, I guess I'll have to go 8GB single-channel (I know there's no point to it as nothing uses that much, but it would still be fun to have).

Information much appreciated :)
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:15 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Two sticks is dual channel, a 2x2GB kit is what you want.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:17 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Two sticks is dual channel, a 2x2GB kit is what you want.
so, If i get two 2x2GB kits, that means I can run 4GB in dual channel mode?

eh, i wonder how much of an increase in performance i'll get
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:24 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

It depends on your specific board but in general today's boards support dual channel using all four memory slots. There is not much point in buying more 4GB of RAM though unless you like spending money unnecessarily. You also need a 64bit OS to access more than 3GB..
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:26 PM
paphman910's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Gruntsworthy View Post
so, If i get two 2x2GB kits, that means I can run 4GB in dual channel mode?

eh, i wonder how much of an increase in performance i'll get
The P5Q supports up to 16 Gigs of RAM. If you get two 2x2GB kits that means each pair of RAM will run on its own channel and it will run 8GB in dual channel mode.

I don't think you will get much performance difference in dual channel mode. I am not sure about how much improvement.

Paphman910
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:27 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 736
Default

my new rig will have vista 64-bit, so don't worry about that.

so you're telling me I indeed can have 4GB dual-channel? (two pairs of two sticks)
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:31 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Yes, stick to 2 or 4 sticks and you will have dual channel.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:36 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 736
Default

awesome :)

just out of curiosity, what does dual-channel offer in benefits anyways? simultaneous acess or something? Ive always wondered.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:49 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Basically it doubles the amount of available memory bandwidth by adding a second parallel channel. This second channel reduces the bottleneck of mem keeping up with processor speed. For performance, dual channel gives about a 5% gain in mem intensive tasks.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:57 PM
Mushkin Rep.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oshawa,ON
Posts: 148
Default

Also, regarding dual channel.
I noticed huge drop in gaming performance using single channel mode, even though memory benchmarks shows little change in performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes