Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 03:05 PM
paphman910's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 199
Default

I wonder if 4GB modules are available in DDR2 yet?

Paphman910
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 03:10 PM
Mushkin Rep.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oshawa,ON
Posts: 148
Default

Yes, 4GB modules are out already.
We have some coming to NA resellers shortly and already in EU and asia.
Model #996655
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 09:00 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

That would be frickin uselessly awesome though--16GB of RAM.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 09:02 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

The only point of that is for iRAM lol.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 09:32 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

iRAM? what's that?
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 10:18 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Released sometime before June 25, 2005[1], the i-RAM is a solid-state drive produced by Gigabyte which has four DIMM slots to allow PC DDR RAM to be used to store data.
It connects via a SATA port and is seen by the PC as a hard drive, and may therefore be booted from directly. However, the i-RAM is bottlenecked by the SATA interface, limiting bandwidth to a maximum sustained throughput of 150MB/sec. This speed limitation is offset by near instant access, with latency results of 0.1ms recorded.
DRAM ho
Released sometime before June 25, 2005[1], the i-RAM is a solid-state drive produced by Gigabyte which has four DIMM slots to allow PC DDR RAM to be used to store data.
It connects via a SATA port and is seen by the PC as a hard drive, and may therefore be booted from directly. However, the i-RAM is bottlenecked by the SATA interface, limiting bandwidth to a maximum sustained throughput of 150MB/sec. This speed limitation is offset by near instant access, with latency results of 0.1ms recorded.
DRAM however is volatile, so any loss of power will cause loss of data. The i-RAM is powered by plugging into a PCI slot, which powers it while the PC is plugged in (using standby power if the PC is off). It also has a 16 hour battery, which operates when the PC is unplugged or there is a power outage.
The i-RAM supports Unbuffered / Non-ECC DDR 200/266/333/400MHz RAM modules of different capacities (up to 1 GiB), speeds and brand for a maximum capacity of 4 GiB. Because of this, the i-RAM is very expensive per GB, but offers a silent storage method with higher responsiveness and performance than a traditional hard drive.wever is volatile, so any loss of power will cause loss of data. The i-RAM is powered by plugging into a PCI slot, which powers it while the PC is plugged in (using standby power if the PC is off). It also has a 16 hour battery, which operates when the PC is unplugged or there is a power outage.
The i-RAM supports Unbuffered / Non-ECC DDR 200/266/333/400MHz RAM modules of different capacities (up to 1 GiB), speeds and brand for a maximum capacity of 4 GiB. Because of this, the i-RAM is very expensive per GB, but offers a silent storage method with higher responsiveness and performance than a traditional hard drive.
i-RAM - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 11:11 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Long story short, it is a hard drive made from RAM that is nice and fast.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 11:57 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Is IRAM still alive? I was thinking of trying the re-designed DDR2 version at one time and then it disappeared from their web site.
I figured they killed the product.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 12:06 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I believe it is called GC-RAMDISK now, not sure what the deal with the DDR2 version is. Could have been scrapped because of solid state drives.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 12:48 PM
Mushkin Rep.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oshawa,ON
Posts: 148
Default

These
ACARD Products - IDE/SCSI/SATA RAID Storage Solutions
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes