Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 05:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 31
Default Ram advice: Mushkin XP PC2-8000 Redline

Hey guys I just bought a new computer last night and I definetly need to upgrade the ram, it currently has 2gb of ddr-800 and i would like to get a 4gb kit for it asap, the specs are as follow,

Intel QX6850 3ghz Extreme processor
Gigabyte P35-DS3L Motherboard
OCZ Gold 2x1gb DDR2-800 Memory
Silverstone TJ04B
ATI Radeon 2900XT 512mb
Western Digital WD 5000YS 500gb Hard Drive
Antec Neo 550W Power Supply
Windows vista ultimate 64bit

The kit im looking at is the 4gb kit of Mushkin XP PC2-8000 Redline ram as seen here: NCIX.com - Buy Mushkin XP PC2-8000 Redline 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-1000 CL5-5-5-12 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit - 996593 In Canada.

Is this kit best suited for my computer? I would not be retaining the existing 2gb of ram (selling)

Thanks in advance for any advice,
Roger
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 05:28 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,377

My System Specs

Default

Just bought the same ram for the same mobo. Buy it. You'll love it!

__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 05:51 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

I recommend it as well, worked great for me.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 05:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 31
Default

Great, Just ordered it from ncix, im looking forward to the upgrade.

Thanks again for the help :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 08:04 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,377

My System Specs

Default

Btw, welcome to HWC Roger!

__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 11:52 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,955
Default

Yea im pretty sure my kit and your kit is the same just different heat spreader soo your gonna love that kit im running it at the 1066mhz. Pc 8500
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz-Then
Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3.8ghz-Now
PNY GTX 1050Ti (Coming)
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 8gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
Corsair Cx600M
Samsung 850 Evo 250gb SSD
Noctua NfP-12's on Swiftech 320 rad
Logitech Z-625 setup
Sony X800E 43" 4K HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 06:03 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,584

My System Specs

Default

Redlines can be pushed up to 1150mhz on average at around 2.0 - 2.1v
Just make sure you boost the DDR2 voltage in BIOS to 2.0v after first boot, since the SPD on the redlines will make it run at DDR2-800 if it's at 1.8v (DS3L's default ram voltage at boot)

C.I.A.2: Disabled
Performance Enhance:Normal
DRAM Timing Selectable (SPD): Manual
CAS Latency Time: 5
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay: 5
DRAM RAS# Precharge: 5
Precharge delay (tRAS): 12

*Below use highest numbers first, then optimising towards lower ones, once stable*
ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD): 3-4
Rank write to READ Delay: 9-11
Write to Precharge Delay: 3 -6
Read to Precharge: 3-5
Refresh to ACT Delay: 60
Static tRead Value: 8(5-7 at default fsb speeds)
Static tRead Phase Adjust - auto
Command Rate (CMD): 2T

DDR2 OVervoltage Control: +0.3v
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2008, 10:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,431
Default

People keep saying "Ascent Redline" those are two different product lines lol. Dashock check your stuff ahahaha <3 Although I seem to be struggling a bit getting mine to balance out; turns out it was my redlines causing errors in folding. But only at non stock speeds, Gonna try and oc them again this weekend.

Dashock how did yours go? I see 2.05 @ 1066 - could you go higher if you wanted?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2008, 07:43 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,377

My System Specs

Default

Looks like half of my Mushkin kit is fried. Computer was locked up this morning, so i shut it down and rebooted. It wouldn't go past memory test screen. Removed one 2 Gb stick and it fired up fine. Swapped sticks and lock up again. So I'm back to one stick. My question is, can I RMA half a kit? The memory is 4-5 weeks old and I bought it from NCIX. Never done an RMA before, so I'm don't know the process at all. Should I try to return it to NCIX or directly to Mushkin? I'll PM Greg. Thanks everybody.

__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!

Last edited by misterlarry; October 23, 2008 at 07:48 AM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2008, 07:52 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,489

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
People keep saying "Ascent Redline" those are two different product lines lol. Dashock check your stuff ahahaha <3 Although I seem to be struggling a bit getting mine to balance out; turns out it was my redlines causing errors in folding. But only at non stock speeds, Gonna try and oc them again this weekend.

Dashock how did yours go? I see 2.05 @ 1066 - could you go higher if you wanted?
I've been asking this myself but it appears that the PC2 8000 sticks are indeed both Ascent and Redline.... :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterlarry View Post
Looks like half of my Mushkin kit is fried. Computer was locked up this morning, so i shut it down and rebooted. It wouldn't go past memory test screen. Removed one 2 Gb stick and it fired up fine. Swapped sticks and lock up again. So I'm back to one stick. My question is, can I RMA half a kit? The memory is 4-5 weeks old and I bought it from NCIX. Never done an RMA before, so I'm don't know the process at all. Should I try to return it to NCIX or directly to Mushkin? I'll PM Greg. Thanks everybody.

Check with NCIX first. Are you a VIP member?

AFAIK, you'll have to RMA both sticks of memory.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes