Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2008, 10:54 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 988
Default EVGA Unveils nForce 780i SLI FTW Motherboard

A few days ago, EVGA unveiled the nForce 780i SLI FTW motherboard:
"EVGA Designed For the Win: Capable of taking your entire system to the next level of performance. The 780i SLI FTW features support for up to a 3-Way SLI configuration with the latest in PCI-E 2.0 technology. With solid capacitors, an 8-Phase Power design, and on-board all ferrite core chokes, the 780i SLI FTW is more than capable of unlocking and keeping stable the true, extreme, potential from the latest 45nm Intel Processors. A convenient layout and onboard functions such as a Clear CMOS button, a Power and Reset button with integrated status LEDs, and a diagnostic LED readout provide ease of use. A simple yet effective system BIOS with easy overclocking features and voltage controls will get you up and gaming at incredible speeds in no time at all."










Press Release.

Product Page.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 02:47 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

I just bought this, I'll let you know if it's DOA or not!
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 12:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Torotno
Posts: 29
Default

This is nice:
Quote:
ferrite core chokes
...but I'd still die before buying anything with an "eVGA" label. Too many burned memory modules...too many vid cards that give "nvlddmkm.sys has stopped working" error....NEVER AGAIN eVGA!!!
__________________
I am blinded by the light, but in darkness I cannot see. Only in the shadow does everything become clear.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2008, 11:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexanderhuzar View Post
This is nice: ...but I'd still die before buying anything with an "eVGA" label. Too many burned memory modules...too many vid cards that give "nvlddmkm.sys has stopped working" error....NEVER AGAIN eVGA!!!
Same here - Someone i know who worked at a place I purchased components in the past told me there was a higher than normal failure rate on eVGA motherboards.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 07:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Torotno
Posts: 29
Default

It's because eVGA like to massively over-volt their products without any regard to the environments they might have to operate in for example an older case with sub-standard ventelation.

I had one of the first 680i chipset motherboards from eVGA, and they burned TWO pairs of Corsair Dominator modules because the mobo decided that 3.5 volts was what my DDR2 DIMM's needed...

My 2 7900 GT's ("KO Superclocked") that I had gave me massive artifacts in Win XP and "nvlddmkm" in Vista, even AFTER I added "full-cover" waterblocks to them (danged den "koosah" - $130 each).

Now I have an eVGA 8800 GTS 320 MB "Superclocked", and my friend has the same one, but it's "KO Superclocked", and we both have massive issues during the summer season. You can't play games for more than 5 minutes. It's rediculous... $300 down the drain...

FCK YOU EVGA!!!
__________________
I am blinded by the light, but in darkness I cannot see. Only in the shadow does everything become clear.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 09:39 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Why would you not double check the voltages before booting? Ever since they've allowed us to change voltages I have always set mine to spec before booting and ran tests to make sure everything was good. Also; EVGA largely sells reference board designs; and they are manufactured in the same place as just about every other reference board so really there's no difference between them except warranty and minor bios differences or sometimes quality of components, but it's all covered by an immense warranty and insanely good customer service. :)

I'm not a fanboi of any one brand, I just don't think EVGA deserves even remotely such a bad rap.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2008, 11:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Torotno
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
Why would you not double check the voltages before booting?
Think about what you've just said...how is it possible to check voltages when you just got the board, took it out of the box, removed the anti-static bag around it, and put in BRAND NEW Corsair Dominator DIMM's???

I was lucky that I was able to find some cheap Kingston RAM from another computer that I was willing to use as a guinea pig. I stuck the DIMM into my freezer, and set it to max. I took it out after an hour and quickly put it into the board, checked the BIOS, found that the RAM voltage was holding at 3.5, and after my disbelief turned into a heart attack, manually set the voltage to 1.9. Note this was after 2 pairs of dominator modules went into the trash can. I shed more than a few tears that day!

It is disgraceful for a motherboard maker to allow AUTOMATIC voltages to reach 3.5 (maximum) on the first boot and turn very expensive DIMMs into paper weights.

If you google this issue then you will find that a lot of people experienced the exact same (RAM overvolting) issue.

P.S. The GeForce 7xxx series from eVGA had a 60% RMA rate. I had the link to this but it went dead. The root issue for the vid cards was bad RAM, but think about it...60%?!? That's almost the rate at which the Xbox 360 experienced the RROD (red ring of death). I know about a dozen people (in Toronto) with eVGA products, and every one of them has some serious issue with them.
__________________
I am blinded by the light, but in darkness I cannot see. Only in the shadow does everything become clear.

Last edited by alexanderhuzar; July 28, 2008 at 11:10 PM. Reason: P.S.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 08:52 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

I'd say more like nFarce + eVGA = FTL...
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 09:09 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -n7- View Post
I'd say more like nFarce + eVGA = FTL...
My eVGA board has been swell

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexanderhuzar View Post
It's because eVGA like to massively over-volt their products without any regard to the environments they might have to operate in for example an older case with sub-standard ventelation.

I had one of the first 680i chipset motherboards from eVGA, and they burned TWO pairs of Corsair Dominator modules because the mobo decided that 3.5 volts was what my DDR2 DIMM's needed...

My 2 7900 GT's ("KO Superclocked") that I had gave me massive artifacts in Win XP and "nvlddmkm" in Vista, even AFTER I added "full-cover" waterblocks to them (danged den "koosah" - $130 each).

Now I have an eVGA 8800 GTS 320 MB "Superclocked", and my friend has the same one, but it's "KO Superclocked", and we both have massive issues during the summer season. You can't play games for more than 5 minutes. It's rediculous... $300 down the drain...

FCK YOU EVGA!!!
You can't blame eVGA really as most of their stuff is Nvidia reference designs. So any other manufacturer could have the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 09:12 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

Hah, good to hear that.

Personally, i won't touch anything nFarce till the stench of dead/problematic/crappy OCing boards leaves all the threads in XS.

That & when nVidia figures out how to price things properly.

My guess is that means it'll either be a damn long time, or never...
__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes