Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 10:12 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 988
Default Seagate Announces 1.5TB Hard Drive

Seagate has just announced a 1.5TB desktop hard drive and a 500GB notebook hard drive:
"SCOTTS VALLEY, Calif.-July 10, 2008-Seagate (NYSE:STX) today unveiled the industry’s first 1.5-terabyte desktop and half-terabyte notebook hard drives to meet explosive worldwide demand for digital-content storage in home and business environments.

The debut of the Barracuda® 7200.11 1.5TB hard drive, the eleventh generation of Seagate’s flagship drive for desktop PCs, marks the single largest capacity hard drive jump in the more than half-century history of hard drives – a half-terabyte increase from the previous highest capacity of 1TB, thanks to the capacity-boosting power of perpendicular magnetic recording (PMR) technology.

The Barracuda 7200.11 hard drive combines proven PMR technology, components and expert manufacturing to provide 1.5TB of reliable storage for mainstream desktop computers, workstations, desktop RAID, gaming and high-end PCs, and USB/FireWire/eSATA external storage.

Seagate’s new 2.5-inch half-terabyte 5400- and 7200-rpm drives – Momentus® 5400.6 and Momentus 7200.4 – deliver the best combination of capacity, mobility and durability for mainstream and high-performance notebook computers, external storage solutions, PCs and industrial applications requiring small form factor."


Press Release.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 11:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Torotno
Posts: 29
Default

SSD's will still win over because think about how long it takes to access the data on the slower part of the drive (the 750 GB of the slow half). So unless the slow part can do at least 50 MB/sec with an access time of 14 ms or lower, it's going to be very annoying...

I think large capacity drives will be viewed in time as we once looked at tape backup media - lots of space, but extremely limited access time and slow read/write...
__________________
I am blinded by the light, but in darkness I cannot see. Only in the shadow does everything become clear.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 12:13 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexanderhuzar View Post
SSD's will still win over because think about how long it takes to access the data on the slower part of the drive (the 750 GB of the slow half). So unless the slow part can do at least 50 MB/sec with an access time of 14 ms or lower, it's going to be very annoying...

I think large capacity drives will be viewed in time as we once looked at tape backup media - lots of space, but extremely limited access time and slow read/write...

I think, that the 'reality' you are speaking of, sint one that all of us are in. First off all, they are for more about cad work, maybe medical imaging? or mass storage like raid 5 arrays. NOT for us who only store mainly mp3, games and

pron

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 06:00 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

SSD will be amazing... when they drop their price, you could put as much flash memory on it as you can.

Question, how many platters that thing has? 3 x 500GB ?
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 06:08 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Probably 6x 250 gig platters... Seagate hasn't made a platter with more than 250-300 on it yet (WD has one thats 333 or approx. 320g).
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 06:42 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

I think this massive hdd thing is more about these companies competing over each other rather than what we actually need. Obviously these drives are not going to win any benchmarks so a lot of us here at HWC are less interested in them.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 07:53 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chos3n View Post
SSD will be amazing... when they drop their price, you could put as much flash memory on it as you can.

Question, how many platters that thing has? 3 x 500GB ?
375GB platters x 4. 500GB platters? I wish.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Probably 6x 250 gig platters... Seagate hasn't made a platter with more than 250-300 on it yet (WD has one thats 333 or approx. 320g).
Yes they have, they just aren't available in North America yet for some reason.
Seagate Technology - Barracuda 7200.11 SATA 3Gb/s 640-GB Hard Drive

They have been available in the UK for a few months now.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 10:39 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Ah ha, European news. That's why I haven't heard about it yet. So yeah, what you said lowfat. (Firefly/Serenity rocks btw, lol).
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 05:55 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
375GB platters x 4. 500GB platters? I wish.


Yes they have, they just aren't available in North America yet for some reason.
Seagate Technology - Barracuda 7200.11 SATA 3Gb/s 640-GB Hard Drive

They have been available in the UK for a few months now.
O rly?

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...e&promoid=1015

__________________
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7 930 | Corsair H50
G.Skill RipJaws 4x2 GB DDR3 | HIS Radeon HD 5870
3x Intel X25-M 80 GB RAID-0; OCZ Agility 120 GB | Samsung SH-S243D
Corsair HX1000 | Dell 3007WFP & Samsung 204T | 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 07:24 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -n7- View Post
too late They must of been added just after i ordered my WD6400AAKS' .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes