Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 03:18 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,010
Default PhysX GPU Acceleration on Radeon HD 3850

NGOHQ.com has just sent out this little teaser:

Coming Soon! from the author of the SLI Patch :).







Thoughts? If this is real, then...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 06:39 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,933

My System Specs

Default

Well this is good for us if it is true. Though ATI can't support it because they don't own the company. So we would have to rely on that guy.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 07:04 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

We have a News Editor? When did this happen and why wasn't I told? Anyways.. If this is true, then I'd definitely give ATI a try for my next build..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 07:27 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

Yes we have a news editor. And he is a very good one.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 08:44 PM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

Wow hope this is real, cant wait to try it.
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 09:15 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

I don't care if it is real or not lol. However I would like to see AMD actually license CUDA so PhysX will run on their cards legally.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 01:33 AM
da_bradler
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cuda and PhysX have completely free SDKs. There is no licensing fees, if ATI wanted to implement Cuda and PhysX into there cards all they would have to do is develop them.

What you need is Cuda, you can go here to see the license Download CUDA Code - complete and free toolkit for creating derivative works and download the development tools. highlight is "Subject to the terms of this Agreement, NVIDIA hereby grants to Developer a royalty-free,
non-exclusive license to possess and to use the Materials."

It doesn't say specificly that you can't run cuda on none nvidia graphics cards and it also doesn't say you can.

I guess we will see but from the sounds of it if ATI wants to adopt Cuda and PhysX all they would have to do is give proper credit.

I don't think it's illegal or violates the terms of service in anyway to modify cuda for running on ATI cards.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 05:53 PM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

TG Daily - Nvidia PhysX runs on AMD Radeon 3870, scores 22,000 CPU marks in Vantage


Following controversial allegations that Nvidia is cheating in 3DMark Vantage and Unreal Tournament 3 benchmarks, executives from Futuremark and Epic moved forward to clean any confusion. However, the game was not over enthusiasts from Israel ported PhysX middleware to run on ATI Radeon cards, achieving remarkable performance. Owners of ATI Radeon cards will be able to play PhysX games as well, such as Ghost Recon 2 and already mentioned Unreal Tournament 3.

-copied from Slashdot
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 06:16 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Slashdot | Modders Get Nvidia's PhysX To Run On ATI Cards

Seems word is getting around! I hope we aren't disapointed... can't wait to give this a shot once my rig is stable :)
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 08:21 PM
Leclerc's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rouyn-Noranda (Qc.)
Posts: 110
Default

Could be interesting to give my 3850 a bit more perfs ... even if it is enough for me right now, more is always better .
__________________
Leclerc

AthlonX2 4600+ @ 3.0Ghz (tweaked by Ebdoradz) | Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 | 2x1GB Mushkin HP PC2-6400 @ 860Mhz | Silverstone Strider 500W PSU | Palit Radeon HD 3850 @ 720Mhz/1.76Ghz on 22" Acer X223w monitor | Thermaltake SopranoRS 101 | 1 x Seagate 250GB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes