Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2008, 11:18 AM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default The Download Day: Mozilla Firefox 3

The Download Day has started an hour ago.


I've been using FF3 since the beta, and I'm loving it. A lot of improvements over FF2: much faster loading/rendering time and uses less memory. The new "awesome" bar is also good, just takes some time to get used to over the old one. Bookmarking is also much easier than before.

[Download]

More:
- FF3 Features Screencast
- FF3 Features List
- What's New List

Last edited by Spaceman-Spiff; June 17, 2008 at 02:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2008, 11:19 AM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

And pls don't make this into another browsers war thread...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2008, 11:49 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaceman-Spiff View Post
And pls don't make this into another browsers war thread...
Oh shoot...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2008, 11:53 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Just got it and loving it, much faster than Firefox 2
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2008, 01:41 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Downloaded. Twice even. And I used IE to download it. I love messing with statistics.

I have used 3b4 on and off and liked it. Now I hope my plugins... oops... add-ons catch up soon.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2008, 01:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 21

My System Specs

Default

I've been testing since 3.0 alpha 1. They're really tidied it up during the Beta cycle, and it has become a very nice browser to use. Downloaded version 3.0 final on my work, home, and remote desktop boxes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2008, 02:24 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Gah half of my fav extensions dont work now. :(
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2008, 02:30 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

using it since i saw this thread and wow ...

love it
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2008, 02:41 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I use to use mouse gestures so I could right click and drag upwards to create a new tab, is there anything else I can use for this?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2008, 04:50 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
I use to use mouse gestures so I could right click and drag upwards to create a new tab, is there anything else I can use for this?
ctrl-t?

If you follow the instructions on this page to trick Firefox you can install All-in-one Gestures and it seems to work. <standard disclaimer>this may break other things, do it at your own risk</standard disclaimer> All-in-one Gestures is my favorite gesture plugin so that is what I tried and I do not use very many plugins so my "testing" has been limited.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes