Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2013, 06:55 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 691
Default Haswell potential PSU issue

Saw this on Pcper.

Quote:
the new C6 and C7 idle power states that give the new Haswell architecture benefits for low power scenarios place a requirement of receiving a 0.05 amps load on the 12V2 rail. (That's just 50 milliamps!) Without that capability, the system can exhibit unstable behavior and a quick look at the power supply selector on Intel's own website is only listing a couple dozen that support the feature.
Possible power supply issues for Intel Haswell CPUs | PC Perspective
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 01:01 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,454

My System Specs

Default

Good to know. But I doubt this will be a serious issue. I'm sure most PSU manufacturers are building compatible units as we speak.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 11:18 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 691
Default

Weird that most of Corsair's PSU are already compatible. Then again, most of us will disable the low power state to start with.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2013, 08:47 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Quote:
Also the owners of older Enermax power supplies can be relieved: The manufacturer applies the ZERO Load Design already in all high-end power supplies since the Revolution85+ series which has been launched in 2008.
SOURCE
Seen similar sorts of replies from other manufacturers scattered around the webs. I suspect this will be mostly a non-issue for enthusiast-grade stuff. I suspect any sane mobo maker is going to disable those states by default, if only to avoid the RMA attempts.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2013, 07:46 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

If those CPU power states can be disabled in the mobo BIOS (as I imagine most power users will do on day 1), I imagine that existing "unqualified" PSUs will continue to work alright.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If these USD Haswell prices... TedShackley CPU's and Motherboards 4 April 12, 2013 08:45 AM
Wait for Haswell? the_guitarboy CPU's and Motherboards 26 February 15, 2013 07:20 PM
Wait for Haswell? icodeit CPU's and Motherboards 17 November 4, 2012 04:48 AM
7970 Potential Issue? FrostbittinHD Video Cards 2 July 21, 2012 05:21 PM
Potential heat issue moocow Troubleshooting 3 July 14, 2012 02:29 PM