Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 06:45 AM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 191

My System Specs

Default Logitech to sell Harmony

I hope the Harmony servers stay online, or they release codes if it goes tits up!

http://mashable.com/2013/01/24/logit...-sell-harmony/
__________________
I rub and whack and choke and stroke!

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 07:30 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Everyone is selling all their divisions lately.

I'll be a little annoyed if the Harmony program-ability is discontinued...thats the whole point of the device. Thought I would be safe with the investment since it was Logitech and all. Will keep an eye on this development.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 11:18 AM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 191

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
Everyone is selling all their divisions lately.

I'll be a little annoyed if the Harmony program-ability is discontinued...thats the whole point of the device. Thought I would be safe with the investment since it was Logitech and all. Will keep an eye on this development.
I know, my set up in living room includes TV, Boxee, Optik, Yamaha YSP, and an HDMI switch.

The only thing keeping it user friendly is my Harmony, one button for each activity.
__________________
I rub and whack and choke and stroke!

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 04:58 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,079

My System Specs

Default

Same here. My harmony controls TV, stereo, Telus TV, HTPC, and portable AC unit in the summer.

Certainly hope everything stays up and running.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2013, 05:28 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 608

My System Specs

Default

They better keep the servers running! I always switch something out in my home theatre, but the remote doesn't change as often...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 11:14 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,766
Default

I'm thinking to myself: what would I buy instead of a Harmony remote? The answer: I can't think of anything that competes with it....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 03:45 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 608

My System Specs

Default

Totally agree... there is no valid replacement as far as I know out in the market, and if there is, they sure aren't marketing it well.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 04:17 PM
Harvestor's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 30

My System Specs

Default

I love the 2 i have at the house, i really hope that the servers stay online, anyone know if there is anything on the market that i could replace mine with if the servers go down?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 05:50 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,732

My System Specs

Default

I have never looked into these remotes.. I do not understand why your remote for use entirely within your own home requires access to a site on the internet.

Remotes do not need to be online and that is that. So why does this one?

And whatever the reason:
Good. they deserve dropping sales. Perhaps the next company will not jerk the customers around so much.

(oh, logi, how much does it cost you to run whatever server vs allowing the remotes to be standalone and offline? Yea, bite me.)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2013, 07:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol Quebec
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

I found the harmony remotes to be terrible so I am not surprised. I have always promoted URC Control the Experience. Best remotes hands down they also have discrete on/off for major brand Tvs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Logitech Harmony Remote 1000 + SideWinder X8 mouse+Cooling Hydro Series H100 fyshawk Buy/Sell & Trade 1 April 1, 2012 09:31 AM
[FS] Logitech Harmony One! ( open to trade ) martin_metal_88 Buy/Sell & Trade 88 December 5, 2011 02:56 PM
Harmony one Blu Peripherals 3 December 11, 2010 07:14 PM
HTPC + Harmony one martin_metal_88 HTPC Systems & Software 6 June 27, 2009 05:23 PM