Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 01:59 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,709

My System Specs

Default B3 Opterons finally shipping

AMD has finally started ship[ping the revision that has addressed the famous bug that has plagued early Phenom prcoessors. Hopefully they can reduce prices and turn tis architecture into something competative now.

From DailyTech
"Hark! The long awaited B3 stepping of AMD's Opteron and Phenom finally made its way to system integrators this week.

AMD made it virtually impossible to obtain any K10-based Opteron processors after
the TLB bug caught the world's attention last December. Desktop Phenom processors continued to ship, though the BIOS workaround for the TLB race condition severely hampered performance on some benchmarks.

The vendor who obtained the B3 sample photographed (right) couldn't be more ecstatic. "There's been no Opterons since November. We've even been shipping Socket F Opterons to fill AMD orders. This is a big deal," he tells DailyTech.

"Pre-production" Opterons sent to Torrent search engine IsoHunt
last February were later revealed as gray-market B2 stepped processors, which AMD tracked to October 2007 samples.

In addition to fixing the TLB race condition, AMD will finally increase the core frequency of the Opteron series on the B3 stepping. After the initial OEM orders are filled, channel vendors like Newegg and TigerDirect will carry the new Opterons in frequencies ranging from 1.8 GHz to 2.4 GHz. Vendor estimates put this e-tailer ship date in early April.

AMD roadmaps also indicate the Phenom and Opteron lines will reach 2.6 GHz before this Fall on the new B3 stepping. In 2009 both lines will transition from the 65nm to the 45nm process node,
codenamed Shanghai, with additional SKUs at higher clock frequencies.

B3 Opterons can be easily identified by the "GH" as opposed to "GD" at the end of the product number. With the exception of Phenom and Opteron SE processors, AMD emphasizes to DailyTech that no vendor should be selling or distributing "GD," and customers who obtain these older B2 steppings should contact their local AMD distributor. "


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 06:29 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Saw this on OCForums. They clock about the same...but the improvement over the B2 is noticable without the bios fix.
__________________
My Heatware![/SIZE][/FONT] | Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2008, 08:46 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,709

My System Specs

Default

So no more overclcoking headroom than before?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 08:09 AM
darksideleader's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 127
Default

um, took long enough
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA DVD/CDroms Finally!?!?!? sswilson Storage 20 March 3, 2008 05:57 PM
Finally got an 8800GT KnSKranky Video Cards 24 January 27, 2008 10:17 AM
Erratum Plagues Quad-Core Opterons, Phenoms Shadowmeph Press Releases & Tech News 1 December 5, 2007 03:41 PM
Amd finally on track?? cdn_Madrach Press Releases & Tech News 1 July 27, 2007 09:55 AM
Finally Built!!! Sameer CPU's and Motherboards 23 May 17, 2007 04:49 AM