Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 01:36 PM
News Editor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cylon Occupied Caprica
Posts: 713

My System Specs

Default Microsoft Gives AMD’s ‘Bulldozer’ an Update

Microsoft today released a hotfix for Windows 7 users using AMD’s ‘Bulldozer’ chips that aims to address performance issues with simultaneous multithreading.

Read more here: Microsoft Gives AMD
__________________
Follow me on Twitter: @thesamreynolds

Follow Hardware Canucks on Twitter:
@hardwarecanucks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 02:14 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 741
Default

Will you guys be re-testing the Bulldozer with this hotfix installed?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 02:15 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Cool. Would actually like to see a couple of updated benches to see what the difference is like.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 02:22 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
Cool. Would actually like to see a couple of updated benches to see what the difference is like.
maybe this will get me to upgrade to bulldozer
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 02:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

I hear it made it worse for most people lol
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 03:11 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Will HWC review this patch or?
Anyway. It was predictable that a patch was good in some way, now let's see how much :)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 03:42 PM
Avenger212's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

I want to know one thing. So is the bulldozer line up not really made up of 8 physical cores but rather 4 true cores and a replicated version of HT from Intel?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 03:48 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

its not a hyperthreading sub, its 8 real cores but the cores come in modules which is 2 cores with a little bit of sharing. so really 1 module is like 1.5 cores and its a 4 modules chip. but I believe its 8 true integer cores.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 04:15 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick_brent View Post
maybe this will get me to upgrade to bulldozer
Ditto. That way, I can buy a SSD as well!!

Enjoy!!

AMD 'Bulldozer' gets an Update from Microsoft - AnandTech Forums

The 1st windows 7 scheduler patch results are IN. Have fun!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 05:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

Improvements are good. +1 rep for the M$ dev team....... ;)

In layman's terms, am I understanding what the patch does correctly? -> Since the BD doesn't have 8 full cores, and shares resources amongst the "cores" in the same module... is it essentially skipping the second module core in favour of the next module until each module has at least one core carrying the load?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 'Bulldozer' gets an Update from Microsoft. Nexitus Reviews & Articles from the Web 8 December 15, 2011 02:21 PM
[FS] *UPDATE WEEKLY* ~ Chere's Computer Parts Sale ~ *UPDATE WEEKLY* Chere Buy/Sell & Trade 41 October 15, 2011 08:51 PM
What is Bulldozer?? KSiG CPU's and Motherboards 16 October 11, 2011 02:42 PM
Any Bulldozer news yet? dadzilla CPU's and Motherboards 16 March 17, 2011 09:02 AM
to update ff or not to update, zat is ze question... _dangtx_ Off Topic 8 February 23, 2010 01:07 AM