Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 02:45 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default Foxconn Quantum Force is back with X79



Foxconn Quantum Force is back with X79 by VR-Zone.com
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 02:58 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Interesting, I wonder what availability is going to be like in NA for them.
I miss my Foxconn boards,

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 04:44 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

Wowza SATA ports galore!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 05:06 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

wait wait wait? 14 SATA and are that 3 bios chip? lol :P
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 06:20 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,326
Default

Probably using the -d or -t variant of the x79 chip (thats 10 ports) plus two JM / Marvel/ etc dual port controllers.

MY question is if freakin FOXCON can do this where the hell is my Asus, GB, EVGA, etc mobo with similar capabilities? Why are they all using the entry level -A or basic level -b version of the x79. Not like they are only putting out entry level boards at entry level prices :/
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 07:14 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Probably using the -d or -t variant of the x79 chip (thats 10 ports) plus two JM / Marvel/ etc dual port controllers.

MY question is if freakin FOXCON can do this where the hell is my Asus, GB, EVGA, etc mobo with similar capabilities? Why are they all using the entry level -A or basic level -b version of the x79. Not like they are only putting out entry level boards at entry level prices :/
Cause its Asus ... they don't make product with the consumers in mind, they make it only if there is a major profit for it, ergo why you don't see it from them atm.

Its a shame DFI went down the crapper cause of a bad run of componets/boards ... they at least made product for the consumer.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 07:14 PM
BVickery's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 118

My System Specs

Default

Umm, they say its quad channel but I only see the regular dual channel setup on the board. Am I missing something here? I thought you had to put RAM in by pairs for the most part.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 07:17 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BVickery View Post
Umm, they say its quad channel but I only see the regular dual channel setup on the board. Am I missing something here? I thought you had to put RAM in by pairs for the most part.
All 4 slots filled = Quad Channel.

@Terry - Its not just ASUS its all of them, its just the way they want to do it for whatever reason. All of the Manu's can do it if they want, no idea why they dont.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 07:35 PM
BVickery's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
All 4 slots filled = Quad Channel.

-ST
Thanks for the clarification ST.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 08:24 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Comes down to how many ppl need that many sata ports akg. You are not exactly a typical user :) 6 is plenty for me
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Released Force Series 3 and Force GT Firmware Update Ver 1.3.3 onethreehill Storage 0 October 23, 2011 04:15 PM
The new force of Intel Sandy Bridge - FOXCONN Rattler P67 Review windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 11 July 13, 2011 07:46 AM
Linux Server For Quantum Physics Lab Use? listlurker New Builds 1 June 1, 2010 08:01 PM
James Bond: Quantum of Solace Demo Out gs01 Gaming 5 October 12, 2008 09:46 AM
Foxconn Intel P45 Quantum Force 'Avenger' Exposed Hardware Canucks CPU's and Motherboards 0 May 2, 2008 10:11 AM