Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2008, 04:13 PM
vdf22's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 146
Default 3DMark Vantage Coming Soon

Futuremark - Coming Soon!

It looks like a killer. I think you'll need 2 3870X2's to run this thing in real time.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2008, 08:26 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default

Yikes!
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2008, 08:38 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

anything under a 3870 x2 match with a quad will die ruuning this benchmark
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2008, 09:47 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Did U guys try that YouGamers Game-O-Meter? I thought with my current setup I would be okay to run the 'newer' games....but eventhough my system ranks above the 'Recommended System' ranks...it still tells me: "Close, but no cigar - your computer does not meet the minimum requirements." All this just because I decided to run XP again??? LOL We XP users get punished! Or.....perhaps we can't run Vantage on XP?
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 04:41 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

3DMark Vantage will be a Vista-only application.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 05:30 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default

It is only Vista. Well time to install Vista again.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 09:33 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Nah....having way too good a time on the good ol' XP...LOL
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 10:18 AM
Below_Cost's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada Eh?
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
Did U guys try that YouGamers Game-O-Meter? I thought with my current setup I would be okay to run the 'newer' games....but eventhough my system ranks above the 'Recommended System' ranks...it still tells me: "Close, but no cigar - your computer does not meet the minimum requirements." All this just because I decided to run XP again??? LOL We XP users get punished! Or.....perhaps we can't run Vantage on XP?
I tried running that 'Game o Meter' and almost crapped myself too! Big ding for having XP and not Vista. Well, I suppose it is a Vista only program.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 11:00 AM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

Its a Vista only app since you need a DX10 card to run it and X10 is Vista only...
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 01:00 PM
vdf22's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 146
Default

Yup, XP users are going to be left out in the cold.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best GPU price / performance ratio: 3DMark Babrbarossa Video Cards 8 January 28, 2008 04:25 AM
Only 8500 on 3DMark 06 WTF ?? Plz Help! logikal Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 August 13, 2007 12:49 PM
Sub-Zero HD 2900XT destroys 3DMark 05 record Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 7 May 23, 2007 12:14 PM
how much vid cards affect 3dMark ragenrok Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 April 24, 2007 08:22 AM
Futuremark Releases Free 3DMark and PCMark Updates Gav Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 December 15, 2006 10:25 PM