Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 09:46 AM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default Mozilla Firefox 4 Released

Mozilla, a global, nonprofit organization dedicated to making the Web better, is proud to release Mozilla Firefox 4, the newest version of the popular, free and open source Web browser. Firefox puts users in control of their Web experience, providing a streamlined user interface, fun new features, a boost in speed and support for modern Web ... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 10:20 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,612
Default

Tried and really don't like it.

They really made a huge overhaul to the UI and its gonna take some time getting used to.

For now I stick with 3.x
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 10:42 AM
SkullTrail
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up Love it

I have a smokin' desktop and a crappy old laptop which I use on the road. The desktop runs Win7Ult and blasts through crappy code like a hot knife through butter, but the laptop, an old single core running XP chokes on IE8 (totally unusable), and barely got through FF 3.6.15. On heavy Flash or Java pages, the CPU would hit 100% for 10s before allowing the page to slowly move.

Long story short, the GPU accelerated FF4 has fully rejuvenated my old pile. It literally flies though the heavy coded pages. In one word - AWESOME. I tested it on all the troubling websites and call me impressed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 11:05 AM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

just installed it. the new GUI is....different but unique. I will have to spend some time using it before giving it a final verdict though.

I just tried opening 79 tabs at once (by middle-clicking my 'latest headlines' newsfeed) and it didn't crash!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 11:28 AM
Polygon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 957

My System Specs

Default

Looks like they "learned" from chrome. Looks much cleaner.
__________________
'Do not wish for easier lives, wish to be stronger men'
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 11:41 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

lower memory usage my heiney! its 50% more with the same 50+ tabs open lol~!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 12:25 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,961

My System Specs

Default

No complaints here. Its running fine and has a few tweaks that I have noticed and like so far. I have always been a Mozilla user, since it has always run well and doesn't give me any problems. Keep the updates coming to keep it competitive and functional and I will keep running it.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 01:29 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

I no like change!!!!

Thank goodness I still have palemoon 3.6

Going to take a bit to get used to the new UI but I will try.

I do like the idea of using the GFX to help with speed.

We will see what I think after a month or so, one thing at least is 70% of my addons work, they didnt last time I used the beta.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 01:34 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Tried and really don't like it.

They really made a huge overhaul to the UI and its gonna take some time getting used to.

For now I stick with 3.x
If you enable to the menu, enable the bookmarks toolbar and disable tabs on the top, it's essentially the same interface.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 01:56 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,091

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desiato View Post
If you enable to the menu, enable the bookmarks toolbar and disable tabs on the top, it's essentially the same interface.
Bingo. I disabled tabs on top (right click the tab bar) and now the only big change is moving the home and reload buttons.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A guide to optimizing your Mozilla Firefox browser performance xd_1771 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 July 19, 2011 02:20 PM
Firefox 3.6 Released FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 January 21, 2010 11:09 AM
Mozilla Firefox Turns 5 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 November 9, 2009 05:59 PM
The Download Day: Mozilla Firefox 3 Spaceman-Spiff Press Releases & Tech News 20 July 20, 2008 01:13 PM
Firefox 2.0.0.2 has been released Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 1 February 25, 2007 11:11 AM