Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 01:48 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,313

My System Specs

Default POWERCOLOR Announces Dual Mode Graphics Setting For New HD 6950 Series

The PCS++ HD6950 allows unlocking of shaders allowing extra performance

TUL Corporation, the parent company of PowerColor, is announcing a dual mode setting design in the HD6950 series: the PowerColor PCS++ HD6950.

The PowerColor PCS++ HD6950 features a dual BIOS setting, allowing a bump in performance with factory overclocking to at 880MHz c... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 02:07 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 482
Default

What would be nice is a card that allows you to switch to 6970 at the push of a button. That would be a giant FU to AMD though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 03:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

Article: The PCS++ HD6950 allows unlocking of shaders allowing extra performance.

The PowerColor PCS++ HD6950 features a dual BIOS setting, allowing a bump in performance with factory overclocking to at 880MHz core speed and 1250MHz memory speed.


BootlegUsher: What would be nice is a card that allows you to switch to 6970 at the push of a button. That would be a giant FU to AMD though.

I don't see the difference between what you are saying would be nice and what they are apparently offering.

Ohhh. I see what you are saying. The difference would be the real 6970's memory would be clocked at 1375
__________________

Last edited by enzo matrix; January 20, 2011 at 04:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 12:28 AM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 482
Default

Sorry, I thought this card was just overclocking the core and memory, I didn't realize it was unlocking stuff too. My bad.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2011, 12:51 PM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What is the point of this..a user can easily flash their reference 6950 to a 6970 stock clocks with the unlocked shaders. I don't see why Powercolor should charge extra except for maybe the custom cooler.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2011, 01:02 PM
Exlibris's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montreal (NDG)
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

I guess knowledge of flashing the 6950s has reached such a critical mass that Powercolor thinks there may be a market for users who want to try it but are not willing to risk it or whatever. Could work for a small batch-run.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2011, 07:12 PM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I wonder if this would hint that the unlocking of the 6950 won't be going away anytime soon or do you think they stockpiled some of the current revision?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2011, 09:46 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,787

My System Specs

Default

All 6900 reference cards have a dual-bios with an external switch. See SKYMTL's review here: AMD Radeon HD 6970 and HD 6950 Review

So flash away on your 6950, and if it doesn't work, flick the switch and you are back to stock.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 07:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

What is the point of this..a user can easily flash their reference 6950 to a 6970 stock clocks with the unlocked shaders. I don't see why Powercolor should charge extra except for maybe the custom cooler.

All 6900 reference cards have a dual-bios with an external switch. See SKYMTL's review here: http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...review-12.html

So flash away on your 6950, and if it doesn't work, flick the switch and you are back to stock.


These are the reasons that the guy who published a similar article on anandtech was bashed so badly that they took it down:
PowerColor Launches Dual-BIOS Radeon HD 6950 | bit-tech.net
PowerColor Launches Dual-BIOS Radeon HD 6950 - bit-tech.net Forums
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2011, 05:06 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

While I can see this card being argued as a non-event, it isn't without merit. A good percentage of 6950's can be flashed for access to all shaders, etc, but some simply don't take. This card serves two purposes: 1) it guarantees you'll have a pseudo 6970 since they test the shader-unlock and overclock at the factory, and 2) it comes with non-reference cooling so you won't need to mess around with your own implementation. Only 1 or 2 non-ref 6950's are available.

So assuming the up-sell isn't too exorbitant, I think this card has its place. In fact I'll likely get two if priced reasonably.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powercolor Adds Vortex Technology to the PCS+ HD5770 Series FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 5 July 18, 2010 08:36 PM
MSI Announces New Lightning Series Graphics Card N275GTX Lightning FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 August 14, 2009 11:03 AM
Powercolor upgrades the HD 4770 Series Gav Press Releases & Tech News 0 August 7, 2009 11:47 AM
Need help looking for a board that will run Crossfire at dual 16x mode Gameplaywarrior CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 9, 2009 01:44 PM
TheTechLounge reviews Linksys iPhone CIT300 dual-mode Internet telephony kit Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 January 22, 2007 04:29 PM