Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 11:52 AM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default OCZ Reassures Customers About Warranty for DRAM

On the bombshell announcement last week that long time DRAM manufacturer, OCZ, was pulling out of the market, the company wants to assure its long time customers that they will not be left high and dry regarding any warranty or support for their now grandfathered DRAM modules. OCZ has always promoted its lifetime memory warranty, but as consumers f... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 03:02 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,096

My System Specs

Default

look on KIJIJI fore some nice cheep Ocz Products
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 06:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,958

My System Specs

Default

Good to know. Running some OCZ DDR2 1066
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 07:29 PM
LaughingCrow's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

I guess I get to test their supply out. I have 2 x 2gig DDR3 sticks sitting in Mississauga at Canada Post since Friday. Shouldn't take them that long to move it to OCZ in Markham. The RMA process went fast enough.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 08:21 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I would prefer to receive money for my friend OCZ ram that will certainly go on her fifth RMA soon. Not dead yet but you know how it work ;) So I can buy him something else XD
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2011, 11:10 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

It sucks to lose a competitor, but I haven't touched OCZ memory in years because of poor experiences. I almost always go Corsair now unless there's a significant price difference and I haven't had any problems :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 05:08 AM
Pukka's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 65

My System Specs

Default

Been running 2x2GB OCZ reaper for a while now; never had any problems. I'm sad to see them go. Good to know my warranty is still valid, though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 10:27 AM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

I went to the trouble of buying OCZ black edition memory for my AMD system, and when I try to use a BEMP profile in AMD overdrive my computer locks up. The ram works fine at 1333 though so its not so bad...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 11:31 AM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Long time buyer

I bought OCZ Ram for the last 7 years, never got a single issue. My only RMA with them was not even for a dead product and they sent me a power supply of 2 times better quality than my first one... I am not going to complaint, that is incredible customer service there.

As for RAM, they got problem with their gold brand... but I always paid the 3$ more for getting their platinum so I never got any issues >:D
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2011, 12:50 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

OCZ always had good service for me. They allowed me RMA for a PSU that was past warranty and gave me a better one. Not many companies will do such things.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA Revises it's Warranty Lengths & Allows for Warranty Upgrade SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 19 January 13, 2011 08:22 PM
OCZ Scaling Back DRAM Operations FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 33 August 27, 2010 04:32 PM
Dram voltage 1.79 dangerous? Chris RAM 5 June 25, 2009 10:34 PM
DRAM Timing TheRock New Builds 7 November 25, 2008 12:46 PM
dram ratio? 3.0charlie RAM 5 July 14, 2007 02:09 PM