Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2011, 10:10 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default CES 2011: MSI Demos New AM3+ Big Bang Conqueror & Lightning GPUs

For MSI, things are rolling with brand new marketing and PC product development teams. Not only did they show off a number of new and upcoming products at highly competitive price points but overclocking muscle was also flexed with an overclocking event dubbed MOA. In this article we take a look primarily at the AM3+ Big Bang Conqueror and their ne... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2011, 11:17 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Hot damn! I wish I had put money on my theory I said days ago in the "AMD Upcoming lineup speculation" thread, lol.

Thought the AM3+ boards would be soon, im glad I was right
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2011, 11:29 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,717

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Since AM3+ boards are backwards compatible with AM3 and AM2+ CPUs,
Wait.. what did I miss? Since when can you use an AM2+ CPU that only has a DDR2 controller in a board that only has DDR3 slots?
I could see these boards taking AM3.. but AM2+?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2011, 11:47 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
Wait.. what did I miss? Since when can you use an AM2+ CPU that only has a DDR2 controller in a board that only has DDR3 slots?
I could see these boards taking AM3.. but AM2+?
Phenom IIs have both a DDR2 and DDR3 controller? I think they mean "Certain" AM2+ CPUs, not all. lol
Phenom II - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 12:48 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Do like! But I have to admit that my best pick is the GD-80 on the P67 chipset.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 01:02 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,717

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Phenom IIs have both a DDR2 and DDR3 controller? I think they mean "Certain" AM2+ CPUs, not all. lol
Phenom II - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
second paragraph of Features:
"Socket AM2+ versions of the Phenom II (920, 940) lack forward-compatibility with Socket AM3.[8] Socket AM3 versions of the Phenom II are backwards-compatible with Socket AM2+"

The only thing I take issue with about that article is saying that an AM2+ CPU could work in that board.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 03:50 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Is anybody able to pick out an aux 12V molex connection on that 8 GPU beast? I had a quick look but couldn't find a single one, let alone the two I was expecting......

Great to see some bulldozer boards out, I'm going to wait to see what it offers before I take the plunge on a clock limited SB. ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 03:55 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

I'm kinda of curious why MSI keeps sticking with a heatsink design which isn't that fantastic in multi-gpu set up due to all the hot air it dumps into a case.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 04:00 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

I can only remember one board ever that would do anything for chipset heat inside the case. Seems to me it was a DFI and it had a fan attachment off of the NB/SB sink that exhausted out the back. Other than that.... the overall heat inside of a case is going to be a constant no matter what the heatsink design is.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 05:33 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

I was refering to only the graphics card designs. I had to ditch my 2 465 Golden Editions due to the fact that running side by side in my now old case would cause the primary card to reach rather high temperatures, although when i was just running one of them (before i went sli) it ran cooler then any other 465 (well 470) card that i know of.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI Big Bang-XPower Mainboard Captures Major Attention FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 2, 2010 02:38 PM
MSI Big Bang XPower X58 Board Pictured Soultribunal Press Releases & Tech News 14 February 8, 2010 04:56 AM
MSI to Unleash Big Bang Gaming Series Mainboards [PR] FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 4 October 30, 2009 11:13 AM
MSI Counting Down For The Big Bang P55 Motherboard Debut FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 16 October 25, 2009 08:47 PM