Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:29 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default Asus Releases Proprietary Solution To Help Owners Overcome Large HDD Limit

With Western Digital releasing the first internal 3TB drive, and Seagate with a drive in the works (though public release still a ways away), consumers interested in these 'megadrives' are being forced to pony up the extra cash to purchase a third party solution to overcome the 2.19TB drive limitation of the modern system. Not for ASUS motherboar... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:36 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

"and works with 35 different Asus motherboard chipsets."

does that mean the the the mobo my old old grandfather god bless his soul used will be on the list as well?

kinda cool, if it works as advised.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:44 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
"and works with 35 different Asus motherboard chipsets."

does that mean the the the mobo my old old grandfather god bless his soul used will be on the list as well?

kinda cool, if it works as advised.
see product page for details
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 01:03 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,743

My System Specs

Default

Can we get a version of that article, but with less PRBS fluff and more useful information?
Like, in what manner did they work around the limitation?(kernel extension/driver, bios patch, etc)
What happens when you take a drive that you used this on and stick it into another system with and without whatever this software is?
What happens when you plug a drive you used this on into a controller card/mobo that does not need it?
Does this method work with old/current chipsets in USB/Firewire enclosures? (ASUS will no doubt limit it's abilities to their boards only, but other companies might release similar software)
etc

*Edit
ok, looking closer at the screenshot it looks like they might be partitioning the drive or something (reminds me of the old LBA48 issue :P) so chances are it would work fine with older controllers but you only see the partition covering the first normally usable portion of the drive.
I still want more real information though. -_-

Last edited by MacJunky; November 17, 2010 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 01:15 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

The only information that is available will be contained in the User Manual: https://docs.google.com/viewer?url=h...User_Guide.pdf

To best honest, I am really just learning all the ins and outs of this stuff myself so I figure it better not to interject any technical jargon into the PR.

edit: still learning reading / can't comment yet

Last edited by FiXT; November 17, 2010 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 01:31 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Just a quick question. When you buy a 3TB from WD, it come with everything needed to use it all no?( I don't know that's why I ask ) But well, when every one else will have COPYPASTAED asus on this one, wd will be able to drop the way they go and maybe save a bit on it.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 01:38 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Yes, the WD comes with an HBA add-in card, but street price of their 3TB is $239 USD, primarily due to the extra card.

If companies release bare 3TB, the prices SHOULD be much better, given that 2TB these days are only around $90ea.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 01:52 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiXT View Post
Yes, the WD comes with an HBA add-in card, but street price of their 3TB is $239 USD, primarily due to the extra card.

If companies release bare 3TB, the prices SHOULD be much better, given that 2TB these days are only around $90ea.

Thx FiXT that was right what I was hopping to read! So, this asus trick is a good news both for Asus and WD. I already wrote this but...this year is truly interesting for computer lover
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 05:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 131
Default

any hack to make it available for any motherboard?

Not like I need it but im pretty sure hackers will find a way to make it for every motherboard ones or just other companies start making replicas
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 05:32 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,785

My System Specs

Default

Heh... great to see it out there for folks who want/need it, but it certainly does bring back memories of being unable to get the old seagate software (was it easystore??? Drivespace??? something like that) off of my hard drive once I wanted to use it on a motherboard that recognised the larger drives......... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS VW266H owners plz comment! Delavan Display Units 7 September 22, 2010 10:02 AM
Good 5.25 to 3.5 HDD mounting and cooling solution? Killswitch Cases 1 August 9, 2010 07:54 PM
ASUS P7P55D Pro & 8pin EATX12 with cap Logger CPU's and Motherboards 3 January 2, 2010 02:18 PM
ASUS board sleep problems solution Brian CPU's and Motherboards 0 August 2, 2009 05:18 PM
A-DATA Unviels XPG Plus DDR3-2200+ Memory Claimed as Fastest In the Industry FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 4 August 2, 2009 05:23 AM