Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 12:45 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default AMD Updates Processor Lineup with Six New Chips

AMD's highly anticipated Bulldozer redesign is still a long way off, and the here, now, Phenom lineup is getting a long in the tooth; nearly 5 months without a new addition, what is this madness! Today the company has launched six new CPUs to round out its offerings, filling in some gaps and providing a few new flagship chips. Model Clock speed L2... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 01:10 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

no 95 watter hexa? and on top of that nothing new at waiting's reach? fail....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 01:22 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
no 95 watter hexa? and on top of that nothing new at waiting's reach? fail....
Of course not. AMD's processor division really doesn't have much to compete with until their new architecture is released. Until then "ho hum" and "been there, seen that" may be par for the course.
__________________

Last edited by SKYMTL; September 21, 2010 at 05:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 01:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

what pains me is that we may see an announcement about 2012 instead of 2011. shouldnt happen but with how things have been pushed back?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 03:55 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 414
Default

Now we just need better software to utilize all these damn cores....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 08:06 PM
F-Bomber's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The deep, dark woods of Indiana
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungMan View Post
Now we just need better software to utilize all these damn cores....
Amen.
__________________
My Rig: A pretty box full of junk...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2010, 03:22 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Wonder if the 1075 OC well as the 1055.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2010, 05:15 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,144

My System Specs

Default

Even though AMD can't compete in the high end market, I am still a fan of these updates. Can't complain about more performance per dollar (though bulldozer is going to be much appreciated change in technology....hopefully).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2010, 07:00 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
Wonder if the 1075 OC well as the 1055.
Apparently the 1075 OC's better than the 1090T

http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.ph...1&limitstart=9
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2010, 07:19 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

too bad they couldn't priced it a bit better(competition against existing amd chips) . say 250 buckers. that wouldve been a killer. 870a for 100. good god. around the price of an intel quad by itself.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI Updates Mainboard Compatibility for Phenom II X6 Six-Core Processor FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 4 April 21, 2010 05:21 PM
AMD Introduces Sub-$100 AMD Phenom II Processor, and AMD Athlon II Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 January 25, 2010 04:31 PM
AMD releases two energy-efficient Athlon chips Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 April 22, 2008 02:31 PM
Some Specs turn up for new AMD chips Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 9 March 15, 2007 05:51 PM
Intel to Bring-In 3GHz Quad-Core Chips, 1600MHz Processor Bus. Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 February 22, 2007 06:00 AM