Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2010, 09:56 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,702

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I am just using 1 HD5970. I've tried different modes of AA as well. Everything causes it to move at a crawl. I can't even launch an actual game because the menu is so slow and unresponsive.
Perhaps it's an issue specific to the 5970's then? Seems very odd. But regardless, AA in any top-down RTS is really not a necessity. It's all just a continuation of the back and forth 'one-up-manship' between nVidia and ATi.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 05:31 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I'll try this tonight with my 5870. Its sounding to me there may be something wrong with his 5970 or potentially 5970s with this game
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 03:06 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I'll try this tonight with my 5870. Its sounding to me there may be something wrong with his 5970 or potentially 5970s with this game
It is just w/ AA. I have no problems maxing the game out completely @ 2560x1440. The only time I see a drop in frame rates is when creating a stucture w/ protoss (silly blue grid) on a heavy saturated screen.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2010, 08:15 PM
ElMoIsEviL's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Sounds like ID Ten T issues here.

I've been using this driver with my tri-fire setup (5970 + 5870) with 8xAAA and in game settings maxed out and I don't crawl at all. FPS well above 60. In fact...

Contemporary Graphics Cards in StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty (page 6) - X-bit labs

I don't see them having issues either.

Also:

Quote:
Tecnofront HWD: i7 920 @ 4.2GHz * Rampage III Extreme * (3) GTX460 1GB (2x1GB + 1x768MB) * 6GB DDR3 * 80GB ioXtreme * 30GB X25-E * 1000W Antec
I hope you aren't saying you've got tri-SLI going there. Do you mean to say 2x GTX 460 SLI and 1x GTX 460 PhysX?
__________________
Core i7 980X @ 4.6GHz | EVGA X58 3XSLI Classified Hydro | 12GB Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 2000 | 2 X 80GB X25's | Tri-Fire ATi 5970 + 5870 | EVGA 9800GT PhysX | Antec 1000W | Custom Water

Last edited by ElMoIsEviL; August 14, 2010 at 08:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Releases Catalyst 10.7 WHQL Driver Update FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 8 July 28, 2010 12:48 AM
ATI Releases Catalyst 10.4a Preview Drivers FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 10 April 25, 2010 02:57 PM
ATI Releases 9.11 WHQL Catalyst Drivers FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 November 18, 2009 06:00 PM
ATI Officially Releases Catalyst 9.8 Drivers FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 August 18, 2009 09:43 AM
Catalyst 7.7 Drivers Now Available from ATI BALISTX Video Cards 7 August 23, 2007 10:11 PM