Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 05:26 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
@chris. Don't you have to do all sorts of stuff when using SSDs in order to keep it performing at a high level?
If you do the following:
1. Buy a SSD with Trim support
2. No Raid
3. Fresh install of Win 7
4. Use default MS ACHI driver

Enjoy!

If you go outside any of the above, then some maintenance or extra setup is involved.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 05:34 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Here's another review.

Western Digital's New VelociRaptor VR200M: 10K RPM at 450GB and 600GB - AnandTech :: Your Source for Hardware Analysis and News

@chris. Don't you have to do all sorts of stuff when using SSDs in order to keep it performing at a high level?
Initially you had to run a silly wiper utility. Nowadays the firmware is supposed to perform garbage collection by itself if you leave your computer on at idle for a few hours but basically SSDs cannot be restored to 100% new performance no matter what. It is really a very immature technology still and the majority of the users are techies. If you do a RAID setup then you'll have to also choose a different stripe size, etc. Basically, you HAVE to tinker with the SSD to get it to perform as per specifications. It will work if you just plug it in, but you won't be getting your money's worth. They're still a hassle today I'm afraid...
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 05:43 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,801

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Here's another review.

@chris. Don't you have to do all sorts of stuff when using SSDs in order to keep it performing at a high level?
Not really. The only things I do is disable hibernation to save a whole lot of space. I also disable Superfetch to save ram (as I have 7GB of it in constant use).

Everything else is pretty much meaningless.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 06:02 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

I still do tweaks on my daily use system just for the hell of benchmarks. but i have set up many many systems this year with ssd's for clients and my self. all i do for clients is turn of the schedule defrag and that's it.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 06:28 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Hey look what I found:

600GB WD VelociRaptor SATA3 - $290 at Newegg.ca

They've adjusted the 300GB version's pricing to the $200 level as well. A few other places such as Canada Computers have also decreased the 300GB version's price but so far I could only find the 600GB model at Newegg. NCIX and the other usual suspects don't have it yet.

I couldn't find the 450GB version in any Canadian retailer yet.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 07:13 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

well see 600gb at that pirce ain't bad at all. I wouldn't buy it but that's not too bad for a price.jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I go SSD or A WD Velociraptor norfolk Storage 21 January 15, 2010 02:39 PM
Games Like No One Lives Forever? Thund3rball Gaming 24 December 9, 2009 05:15 PM
Is VelociRaptor worth it? fire_storm Storage 8 July 22, 2009 11:34 AM
Trying to Bring Life Back Into It...It Lives..No Its Dies! rjbarker Troubleshooting 31 January 18, 2009 08:57 AM
New WD VelociRaptor 300GB On it,s way Tomvill Storage 59 August 27, 2008 08:03 AM