Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 12:00 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default Intel Looks to Launch 8-Core Xeon Nehalem-EX

The server market always gets the cool stuff first. Intel is readying to launch its first 8-core processor to combat the already launched AMD 8 and 12 core Opteron units. Named the Nehalem-EX, these octo-core chips are manufactured on the 45nm process, featuring 8 physical cores each support two simultaneous threads through Hyperthreading. It incl... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 12:04 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

Still 45nm?! Booooooo!
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 Windforce | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 01:43 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well 32 would be nice, but still, with a sensible power envelope it would make some of us folders quite happy :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 04:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 57

My System Specs

Default Boo?

Why do you care if the EX, a server CPU, is 45nm? It's Nehalem anyway, which is 45nm... D'oh!!! Westmere is 32nm AND for the desktop. sheesh. Do you only read headlines then jump to the comment button?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 06:41 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassic1024 View Post
It's Nehalem anyway, which is 45nm... D'oh!!! Westmere is 32nm AND for the desktop.
Nehalem is the name of the architecture and has no specific process associated with it. Bloomfield is the 45nm equivalent of Westmere.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 07:54 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassic1024 View Post
Why do you care if the EX, a server CPU, is 45nm? It's Nehalem anyway, which is 45nm... D'oh!!! Westmere is 32nm AND for the desktop. sheesh. Do you only read headlines then jump to the comment button?
I read the whole article actually. A particular architecture is not necessarily tied to a specific manufacturing lithographic process.

Remember the Pentium 4? The Northwoods were 130nm and the Prescotts were 90nm. They were both the same Netburst architecture.

You're damn right I'm disappointed that new products are being rolled out using the 45nm process. Intel has clearly shown they CAN produce consumer products at 32nm so it's logical for me to feel disappointment when they don't shift existing quad core and new hexa and octa core CPUs to the 32nm process.

32nm = less heat, less power consumption, more overclocking with less voltage
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 Windforce | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 07:55 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

i'm pretty sure you're wrong about that.

bloomfield is equivalent to gulftown(super high-end)
lynnfield is equivalent to clarkdale
clarksfield is equivalent to arrandale
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 08:44 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,602

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oversized Rooster View Post
I read the whole article actually. A particular architecture is not necessarily tied to a specific manufacturing lithographic process.

Remember the Pentium 4? The Northwoods were 130nm and the Prescotts were 90nm. They were both the same Netburst architecture.

You're damn right I'm disappointed that new products are being rolled out using the 45nm process. Intel has clearly shown they CAN produce consumer products at 32nm so it's logical for me to feel disappointment when they don't shift existing quad core and new hexa and octa core CPUs to the 32nm process.

32nm = less heat, less power consumption, more overclocking with less voltage
Its not that easy.

I suggest you read this article: AnandTech: The RV870 Story: AMD Showing up to the Fight to get an idea of what die shrinking entails from a design standpoint

The TLDR is this. Switching nodes usually means a complete redesign of the chip. Shrinking components down means rerunning tracing, redesigning circuit pathing, moving components and die areas around, etc. Or, it means designing the chip in the first place with scalability to the next node in mind. Intel didn't bother with it. Why? Because its a lot easier to build a monolithic eight core chip on a mature known process, then hope and pray all 8 cores work on a new process you just started on...

But I'm sure they are hiring guys like you to fix their business model for them. Actually, I heard they just fired all their PhD engineers with 10+ years of schooling, and 5+ years of job experience to open a slot up!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 08:52 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Its not that easy.

I suggest you read this article: AnandTech: The RV870 Story: AMD Showing up to the Fight to get an idea of what die shrinking entails from a design standpoint

The TLDR is this. Switching nodes usually means a complete redesign of the chip. Shrinking components down means rerunning tracing, redesigning circuit pathing, moving components and die areas around, etc. Or, it means designing the chip in the first place with scalability to the next node in mind. Intel didn't bother with it. Why? Because its a lot easier to build a monolithic eight core chip on a mature known process, then hope and pray all 8 cores work on a new process you just started on...

But I'm sure they are hiring guys like you to fix their business model for them. Actually, I heard they just fired all their PhD engineers with 10+ years of schooling, and 5+ years of job experience to open a slot up!
What you described here deals with the details of engineering and product process. What I said was that you could have the same architecture chip on different production processes. Redesigning circuit paths, etc doesn't mean it's a new architecture.

And to be honest, I don't care what the problems are to move to 32nm because I'm an end user. If I was an electrical engineer in that field I might have cared but, it's not my problem. I am not an engineer and all I care about is getting more performance for my dollars spent.

Nor do I have the desire to enter this field of work...so I don't see why you're getting all personal.

We all "wish" for stuff. Sometimes the manufacturers put out impressive new products and sometimes they fall short of consumers' expectations or desires. That's life.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 Windforce | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 09:11 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,602

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oversized Rooster View Post
What you described here deals with the details of engineering and product process. What I said was that you could have the same architecture chip on different production processes. Redesigning circuit paths, etc doesn't mean it's a new architecture.

And to be honest, I don't care what the problems are to move to 32nm because I'm an end user. If I was an electrical engineer in that field I might have cared but, it's not my problem. I am not an engineer and all I care about is getting more performance for my dollars spent.

Nor do I have the desire to enter this field of work...so I don't see why you're getting all personal.

We all "wish" for stuff. Sometimes the manufacturers put out impressive new products and sometimes they fall short of consumers' expectations or desires. That's life.
You're stomping your feet and shouting "Its not fair!" over something that's not realistic, and you fail to acknowledge it. Yes, you can have the same basic architecture on a new node. However, that doesnt mean they dont have to redesign the chip. Hence why I linked you the article to read.

Wish all you want for the sun, stars and a billion dollars, but the fact remains that a node shrink would entail a redesign for a monolithic 8 core chip on a brand new node. They arnt going to eat those kinds of resources up so you can overclock it 200mhz higher.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Introduces Core i7, Xeon® 3400 and First Core i5 Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 September 8, 2009 01:28 PM
Intel Launch for Core i5, i7 and P55 May Be Just Around the Corner! FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 27 September 3, 2009 09:24 PM
Intel Nehalem Officially Named Core i7 MAC Press Releases & Tech News 14 August 10, 2008 10:40 PM
Intel to Launch Three Nehalem CPU's by Q4 2008 MAC Press Releases & Tech News 13 June 25, 2008 11:42 AM
GamePC reviews Intel Xeon E5345 and X5355 quad-core processors Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 January 5, 2007 07:28 PM