Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 03:09 PM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default Yorkfield overclock on air! INSANE!

4.65ghz was accomplished with only 1.49V and with air cooling by Hipro5.

Name:  Super_Pi_1M_4653MHz_1.49VCore_9.953s_1.png
Views: 1827
Size:  54.3 KB

I can't believe it! This is definitely considered news because it usually takes ~1.7V and phase change to accomplish this. ~4.5ghz should be no problem for 24/7 use with water.

I'm so glad that I waited until after the G0 phase.

On Air......not Maxed Out Yet.... - XtremeSystems Forums
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 03:56 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Yea, those will be good chips. Faster clock for clock and clock further on same volts.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 04:01 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

... Well, at this point, I can safely say that it's going to take a miracle on AMD's part for my upcoming winter build to be anything but Intel-based.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 04:45 PM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default

It's crazy, running at 4.3ghz with only 1.36V is basically unheard of. AMD better show something to the community quick, before it's their trampled.
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 05:33 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I Just bought a q6600, but if this is really the way this new series is going to perform, I'm buying one AND a new motherboard as soon as they come out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 05:48 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Those 4+ Ghz numbers are going to need much stronger FSB numbers, though, and that means no more cheapo RAM. Part of the beauty of the Q6600 is the 9x multiplier that comes with it, but thanks to Intel moving to the FSB1333, multipliers are dropping.

As far as I've been able to find, the best multiplier that will be available w/o going Extreme is now 8.5 (?), and the expected price on it is over $500.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 06:07 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default immense

What a beast. Can AMD stop that-hope they get close. Cant wait to buy one after christmas...but its a shame about the multi.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 07:58 PM
hausner's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 312

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
I Just bought a q6600, but if this is really the way this new series is going to perform, I'm buying one AND a new motherboard as soon as they come out.
same
__________________
|::|CPU: i7 920 "D0"@?|::|MOBO: EVGA Classified|::|RAM: 6GB G.Skill Trident ddr3|::|GPU: BFG GTX 275|::|HDD: 2xSamsung F1 1TB|::|PSU: Ultra X3 1000W|::|Sound: Xonar DX|::|Powered by Heatkiller 3.0 LT/EK GTX275/EK Classified/Feser One X-360 TFC|::|Silverstone TJ 07
LCD: Samsung T260 25,5|::|Logitech Z5500
Project: Classified by Hausner - work in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 08:53 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

While the results are impressive, I generally reserve judgement until I see what retail samples are capable of ...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2007, 08:56 PM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmac View Post
While the results are impressive, I generally reserve judgement until I see what retail samples are capable of ...
If I recall correctly; most retail C2D's did better than the ES chips.
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with overclock FritzGuy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 December 10, 2007 07:14 PM
Does your mobo run Yorkfield or Wolfdale? (Anandtech) Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 8 November 3, 2007 10:16 AM
24/7 Overclock? bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 August 25, 2007 05:32 PM
Well I got one, now how do I overclock it? Supergrover Off Topic 11 May 1, 2007 03:30 PM
Intel completes 45nm 'Wolfdale', 'Yorkfield' architecture Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 2 January 19, 2007 07:52 AM