Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 01:42 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default Retail BOX GTX480 Leaked

Nothing much, but here it is :


HEXUS.net - News :: Colorful's box spills more details on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480 GPU : Page - 1/1

600W total system power, 6+8 pins 3d surround ready etc...

1536 Mb DDR5 !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....

Last edited by matsta31; March 1, 2010 at 02:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 01:53 PM
MonsterSound's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ
Posts: 691

My System Specs

Default

Min 42A; wow. That's not good for my 18A per rail.
Good thing I won't be able to afford it.
__________________
Code:
 my Heatware,  RFD &  eBay
MAIN: i5 3570 @ 4.5Ghz wH100 / evga GTX780 SOC / MSI Z77A-G45 / 8gb G.Skill 2133 1T / 30" 2560x1600 / Antec P280 / PCP&C 950w / Intel 520 SSD 240gb / Eclipse / G3-Lazer / z5300 / Win7 Pro64 / APC Xs1300
HTPC : nMedia6000B / AMD X2 4400+ / M2A-VM / Corsair 4GB 800 / LiteOn Blu-Ray / 8800GT / Samsung 46"LCD / 2x2TB / OCZ500 / ATI550 / Wrless Kbrd & Rmte / z-5500 / Win7Pro / APC700
"You must be the change you want to see in the world" 
- Mahatma Gandhi  
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 02:00 PM
BigDogg's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kitchener/Waterloo
Posts: 187

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonsterSound View Post
Min 42A; wow. That's not good for my 18A per rail.
Good thing I won't be able to afford it.
I just bought this:
http://ncix.com/products/?sku=35154&...%20Electronics

And its only 38A per 12V rail so does that mean I am SOL as well?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 02:01 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

600W???? What the hell is that!!!! you will need a fking 1000W MINIMUM to run this on a decent system. If that is true then I will not buy Nvidia card for the enxt years for sure.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 02:04 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,527

My System Specs

Default

If you ask me, those requirements are utter crap. No way it would need to draw that much power. Even if the power draw is high, I cannot believe we will need a 800W+ power supply to run it. Don't put any real weight on this one guys.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 02:10 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 580

My System Specs

Default

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 02:10 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

What they said is 600 W for the whole system, add another 250 W for SLI. The killer is mostly the Amp data.

Also, I forgot the most important about 1500 Mb DDR5 RAM.

Thnaks for the picture post :)
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 02:11 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Guys, tests like this when they have power Requirements mean System Load, not Card only.

I.E - Card Tested on a System with an i7 965 EE + 6 GB RAM + ect ect.

Same Power Requirement method they have used in the past.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 02:16 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,527

My System Specs

Default

OK, seeing that side shot is much more realistic. If we were forced to run anything over a good 600W for the system and 1 card then I would get upset. Otherwise, still not much to see here that is not already general knowledge.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 02:55 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Finally they add more ram as we desperatly need more for high end. Crysis can use over a GB of VRAM.

The power requirement are pretty reasonable as anyone buying this card is most likely gonna have more than 600 watts already. Now just need a price and give sky one to test and we will be happy.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] AMD 6000+ Retail box norfolk Buy/Sell & Trade 3 September 21, 2009 04:49 PM
[FS] Intel Core2Duo E8500 cpu (retail box) Efx Buy/Sell & Trade 1 September 21, 2009 03:40 PM
[FS] FS: Retail Box ATI Sapphire 4870X2 GTA!! GamingArena Buy/Sell & Trade 12 January 15, 2009 03:53 PM
P5k Deluxe Wifi Full retail box $140 shipped MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 12 July 29, 2008 01:01 AM
P5k Deluxe Wifi Full retail box Price Drop MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 2 July 28, 2008 07:50 AM