Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 04:06 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
You two are nitpickers. Please find me a 500w PSU rated for 42A on the 12v rails.

Would you WANT to try running this card on a 500w? I bet we see more than a couple of threads saying "I bought a GTX 480, but I have a blank screen at boot."
My point is that the card most likely will not actually require that much power, and this is just another case of nVidia exaggerating the power requirements as pretty much all hardware manufacturers do.

And I would have no problem personally running a GTX480 on a good 500W PSU.
Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
Unless I am wrong you just add the 2/3 rails together to figure out amps.
You are wrong. The combined maximum +12V rating of a PSU is rarely equal to the sum of the individual rail OCP limits.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 04:14 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

Cheating. Thats a 550w, not a 500w! My point was that 42A at 12v is 504 watts. These cards will probably draw around 235-240 watts. Add that to your system draw with your overclocked quad core processor, maybe OC your card a little, and you're running at 90% load on your 500w PSU any time you are at load. Some PSU's might be able to handle it. I don't think most 500w PSU's currently on the market would be able to handle it for extended periods. Apparently, neither does nVidia.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 04:16 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

Yup I am not a power supply expert. Electricity is just down right confusing to me even though I took electricity shop twice(one of the few things I learned in electricty shop was to not get blood on the tools and that about it).

I wouldn't recommend running it on a 500 watt power supply but there may be a couple PSU that would be o.k. to use. Remember when nvidia does their power requirements they do fully decked out systems so for the average joe they may not need as much. Then again a lot of people buy crappy PSU so they need more wattage as they have a crappy efficiency rating.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 04:21 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

Efficiency has nothing to do with the power ratings. PSU's are rated for OUTPUT power. An inefficient one will just draw more power from the wall.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 04:28 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Might get hated for saying this, but many times the PSU recommendations on a GPU box are.... well just a reference? More often than not people have been able to run their GPUs at under the recommended power ratings.

Posted this numerous times but I will always go back to this post...

Corsair HX620W Power Supply Running 791W - Can't Break It!! : Cases, Power Supplies, and Cooling

Yes it not COMPLETELY stable, but it was able to run the cards fine. Two 4870X2 is quite the power hog...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 04:34 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Ultra-much....
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 05:17 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

It's no surprise that the new nVidia card would be a power hog. I am more afraid of the heat it puts out rather than the power it sucks in. Besides...anybody contemplating the purchase of this kind of card most likely (95% probability) has a high end PSU.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 05:38 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

The GTX480's 600W PSU requirement doesn't surprise me given the performance it's supposed to to bring to the table. But forget that! What I find extremely amusing is what's listed next after the PSU requirement....... the minimum CPU requirement "Intel Pentium 4, AMD Athlon XP class processor or higher". Anyone here need to upgrade to their CPU to run this card? LMAO! Either way, I have yet to see a mobo with a PCIe slot that supports either socket for those two CPUs. Maybe they do exist but that's just too funny. lol
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 05:45 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killswitch View Post
Either way, I have yet to see a mobo with a PCIe slot that supports either socket for those two CPUs. Maybe they do exist but that's just too funny. lol
There were a lot of Pentium 4 models released on the LGA775 socket so actually you would have no trouble at all finding a motherboard that supports the P4 and has a PCI-E hole.

Alas, I think the point to be made is that minimum CPU requirements should be a dual core processor with no less than 2GHz frequency. Today's high end video cards are just so easily bottlenecked! That was unheard of back in the day...
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 06:09 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,065

My System Specs

Default

I will take a 750W PSU running at 60% vs a 500-550 running at 80-90% anyday of the week.
I don't care what the minimum is, I care more about the efficency Curve of my Silver PSU's and being at 50-60 will put them at maximum possible efficency.
Very Important on 24/7 Folding Rigs.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] AMD 6000+ Retail box norfolk Buy/Sell & Trade 3 September 21, 2009 03:49 PM
[FS] Intel Core2Duo E8500 cpu (retail box) Efx Buy/Sell & Trade 1 September 21, 2009 02:40 PM
[FS] FS: Retail Box ATI Sapphire 4870X2 GTA!! GamingArena Buy/Sell & Trade 12 January 15, 2009 02:53 PM
P5k Deluxe Wifi Full retail box $140 shipped MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 12 July 29, 2008 12:01 AM
P5k Deluxe Wifi Full retail box Price Drop MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 2 July 28, 2008 06:50 AM