Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 10:59 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default Western Digital Has Released Its First Consumer 6GB/s Drive

With the advent of SATA6 and motherboard manufacturers offering their latest and greatest for this technology it was only a matter of time. Western Digital has released their WD Black 1TB drive incorporating this technology. The 3.5 inch drive bears some similarities to its former kin , and like all Black drives speed is set at 7200rpm. Besides the... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 11:22 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Very good news, the ball is in the hand of Intel and Amd to produce chips to run them now


.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 11:31 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

ya I think we will be waiting another year before that happens
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 11:44 AM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default

They've been available there for some days, price isn't too bad! Should be around 120$ pretty much everywhere I guess (Oh well...they'll be available very soon since they're on special order for now at SOHO, but we have the price!)

WD1002FAEX-WESTERN DIGITAL 1TB CAVIAR BLACK 7200RPM 64MB CACHE SATA II-HARD DRIVES-STORAGE- SOHODIFFUSION.COM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 03:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Am I missing something here, or what is the point? These drives don't perform well enough to benefit from SATA 6 GPBS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 03:16 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

someone is mixing up sector size change with sata2 and sata3 the drive you listed is a sata 2 connection but it is a new 4 k sector drive hence the 64mb cache it is not a sata3 connection.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 03:39 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

^^ Ya that drive that Lamb linked is SATA 2 just with 64mb cache (with the higher sector size), not SATA 3
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 03:47 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikellini View Post
Am I missing something here, or what is the point? These drives don't perform well enough to benefit from SATA 6 GPBS
and you are right about it.

But if more HD mechanical manufacturer do sata3 drives, Intel and Amd will make the chipset sata3, so the real winner will be the SSD , only drive that will be able you use it, in raid of course
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 05:10 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

i look at it this way maybe a sata3 hd will come much closer to max the sata2 connection so the more the better.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 06:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

I wonder if the HDD manifacturer will do SSD's sometime....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot install western digital 1tb external hard drive peter762033 Troubleshooting 24 November 11, 2009 12:33 PM
Western Digital Releasing First 10K RPM 2.5" SAS Drive FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 3, 2009 11:21 AM
Western Digital Offers 1TB Passport Sized Portable Drive FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 8 July 27, 2009 07:37 PM
The best gets better!!! Western Digital 2TB Hard Drive Chilly Press Releases & Tech News 13 February 9, 2009 02:26 PM