Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2009, 02:34 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,341
Default

Considering both use Indi Bigfoot controller variants (my understanding is that the Eco is just a newer variant and not a new controller chip) ....I doubt the firmware is that different. Trim slows things down on this gen SSDs (about 10% at most). This is not going to change anytime soon (though wouldn't be too surprised if after a firmware or two things get better, as this is first firmware w/ Native TRIM support). BUT it will be interesting to see how it effects things. However, BOTH versions do support TRIM. Falcon 1 came out before TRIM firmware was released and thus need an update. Since the F2's are just out...they come with the TRIM firmware already loaded for you :)

You really cant go wrong with either the Falcon or the Falcon 2. Both should impress anyone who has never used an SSD before ;)

My personal preference is how OCZ is handling firmware. One version with TRIM (1.4), another variant with refined ITGC (1.4.1). The latter is what I run as it does not slow things down and starts to clean itself up PDQ during low IO's. Really wish more company's would follow OCZ's lead with this.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2009, 02:39 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

falcon 1 here i come just going to go back to 1571 and wipe. trim does not make the drive live longer it just makes it so it does not slow all the ssd will have the same life weather falcon 1/2
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2009, 02:41 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post

My personal preference is how OCZ is handling firmware. One version with TRIM (1.4), another variant with refined ITGC (1.4.1). The latter is what I run as it does not slow things down and starts to clean itself up PDQ during low IO's. Really wish more company's would follow OCZ's lead with this.
me and you both i don't want to have to sell all ny ssd just to buy new one's that have ITGC.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2009, 08:49 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

Sorry Gingerbee but I must disagree with you. TRIM does indeed make the SSD last longer.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2009, 09:27 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

trim is wiper on the fly ( kinda like the new controller chips that have it onboard already ) i think it's called self healing
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2009, 09:32 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

off topic check out some of these bench's on a torqx m28 wow nice numbers. any body else see any more data/info on these ssd like controller maybe Patriot Torqx M28 128GB Solid State Drives - StrafeRight Forums
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2009, 05:30 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,341
Default

TRIM doesn't make a SSD last longer, all it does is keep the cells in a virgin state, i.e keeps stuttering from happening. When a file is deleted the OS calls for a TRIM which not only marks the file as deleted but actually deletes it and then re-freshens the cell. One could argue that it is actually harder on the cells...but that is bullocks. There is a discussion ongoing on the merits of ITGC / NL vs Trim, and there is some indication that ITGC is slightly harder on the cells than TRIM, but wiper.exe vs TRIM vs emergency re-freshening = same wear and tear on the cells over the long run.

IIRC The M28s are Bigfoot controller based SSDs just with faster cache. Think of them as Torqx's which have been factory over clocked ;) Very sweet drives....or to use another analogy: the M28s are basically Vertex Turbo's just by a dif mfg'er. :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2009, 06:49 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

I will think i will be buying a torqx m28 instead just for the warranty and speed. just wondering how come no firmware updates? for the m28 and so later on i can use it some where else like maybe a laptop.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2009, 07:32 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,341
Default

Like the Turbo....it needs custom firmware (or it would just run the cache at stock speeds)... which takes time and resources. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2009, 07:41 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Like the Turbo....it needs custom firmware (or it would just run the cache at stock speeds)... which takes time and resources. ;)
like i would have to send it in or just wait for them to get to it like the turbo? see know i am thinking i should not try one out ha ha it's time to wait and see i think
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill Announces its ECO Memory: DDR3 at just 1.35V Gav Press Releases & Tech News 0 October 15, 2009 10:59 AM
Corsair Launches New Extreme Series High-Performance SSDs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 16, 2009 12:05 PM
G.Skill Falcon 128GB SSD Review Comment Thread AkG Storage 30 June 22, 2009 04:24 PM
G.Skill Announces GT1 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit Featuring Thermaltake RamOrb MAC Press Releases & Tech News 5 October 20, 2008 02:23 PM