Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 12:32 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default MSI Set to Launch 790X-G45 AM2+ Motherboard

While many of us await the latest and greatest of computer technologies for the next big upgrade. Few take into consideration that the most common build is the one for those of on a budget. That is where the MSI 790X-G45 comes in.

For many, computer upgrades become a calculated matter, seeking the best possible performance without having to break ... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 08:37 PM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

I thought the 790X chipset had the 750 Southbridge?

Either way, nice to see MSI make a foray into the 790X field where it's mainly Asus and Gigabyte duking it out, although I'm a bit surprised this isn't socket AM3/DDR3 like their competitors' newer offerings. The lack of VRM passive cooling seems like it'd also deter some people.
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 09:11 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

On their Higher End boards they do, but this one uses the 710SB instead.
Cost savings I am assuming.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2010, 03:42 PM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wink msi 790x

I Thought this motherboard is aN AM3 socket as what i have seen on there MSI website. It said that it does not support DDR2. try looking at MSI website.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overclocking on a MSI K9A2 CF-F AMD 790X kyle_L Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 September 24, 2009 10:18 PM
[WTB] AM2 Motherboard trayton Buy/Sell & Trade 7 July 30, 2009 09:41 AM
Silverstone Set to Launch Next Gen Raven Case RV-02 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 10 July 27, 2009 09:56 AM
[WTB] AM2+ Motherboard JephDiesel Buy/Sell & Trade 1 April 21, 2009 04:50 PM
FS : MSI K9N2GM AM2 Mobo Cptn Vortex Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 21, 2008 10:20 AM