Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 12:49 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default Seagate Begins Shipping Barracuda XT 6Gbit/s SATA Hard Drives

Seagate today began global shipments of the world?s fastest, largest-capacity mainstream desktop hard drive ? Barracuda XT, a 7200RPM product featuring 2TB of storage capacity and a blazing fast Serial ATA (SATA) 6Gb/second interface.

The 3.5-inch desktop drive, the industry?s first to feature a SATA 6Gb/s interface, meets the capacity demands o... [ Read full article ]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 01:04 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 404
Default

Are there any motherboards/controllers that can handle 6Gb/s yet?
__________________
Current Rig: C2D E6400 @ 3.0GHz, Vendetta II, BFG 8800 GT, OCZ PC6400 8GB, HX520W, 2x WD 500GB HD, Segate 160GB, WD 200 GB HD, Lancool PC-K62, Windows 7 64 bit, Snow Leopard (on the way)

EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard $80 + Qualitas 73GB 10k SCSI $30
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 01:05 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Read the article dude, they mention two P55 boards by name that have the new Sata controllers...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 01:12 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Ahhh the trick is actually FINDING them, I haven't seen either of the boards in the retail channels yet- HOWEVER, both Asrock and Asus (same company technically) are releasing a PCIe SATA3 add in controller, so potentially these can be used with most anything motherboard!


The trick is finding the add-in controller in stock...

So for now... no, these drives are completely useless over regular speed
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 01:21 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,917

My System Specs

Default

Meh. Its not all that impressive IMO. We are just barely breaking the SATA 1.5Gbps barrier now w/ standard HDD's. Those SATA 6Gbps cards are PCIe x1 which AFAIK are limited to 250MB/s. Also they are Jmicron (i think) which means poor performance in most cases. Until AMD/Intel start including SATA 6Gbps in their southbridges I'll be passing on this tech. Also the only place we'll see a benefit from SATA 6Gbps is in the SSD department as we are already being limited by SATA 3Gbps.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 01:41 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 404
Default

I admittedly didn't read the article :P I just assumed it was one I had already read earlier today. From now on I promise to read things before commenting:P
__________________
Current Rig: C2D E6400 @ 3.0GHz, Vendetta II, BFG 8800 GT, OCZ PC6400 8GB, HX520W, 2x WD 500GB HD, Segate 160GB, WD 200 GB HD, Lancool PC-K62, Windows 7 64 bit, Snow Leopard (on the way)

EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard $80 + Qualitas 73GB 10k SCSI $30
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 01:47 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Meh. Its not all that impressive IMO. We are just barely breaking the SATA 1.5Gbps barrier now w/ standard HDD's. Those SATA 6Gbps cards are PCIe x1 which AFAIK are limited to 250MB/s. Also they are Jmicron (i think) which means poor performance in most cases. Until AMD/Intel start including SATA 6Gbps in their southbridges I'll be passing on this tech. Also the only place we'll see a benefit from SATA 6Gbps is in the SSD department as we are already being limited by SATA 3Gbps.
Well said and very true
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 02:06 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Fast yes, but do we actually need these kinds of hard drives?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 02:12 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Fast yes, but do we actually need these kinds of hard drives?
Technological "advancements" are rarely done on need, most are pursued just because we can
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 05:23 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,479

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, 6gbps for traditional hard disk drives is a waste.

Now, give me some SATA6 SSDs...Oh man, those would be sweet. Atleast Seagate will work the bugs outta the '6' spec for controllers etc, so by the time mobo's and stuff go mainstream, SSD's can just hop in.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Seagate Barracuda shayan288 Storage 10 January 8, 2009 11:56 PM
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 160GB SATAII Mr. Gruntsworthy Storage 2 October 15, 2008 07:50 PM
Seagate Ships Virus-Laden Hard Drives Shadowmeph Off Topic 7 November 14, 2007 12:59 AM
Seagate Barracuda 500GB Not Detected in BIOS McLaren_F1 Troubleshooting 4 October 30, 2007 08:24 PM