Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 03:11 PM
Unknownm's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Westminster, B.C
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default Some Athlon II X4 Chips Mutate to Phenom II X4



Quote:
Some Athlon II X4 Chips Mutate to Phenom II X4
The latest in AMD's almost deliberate series of processors that unlock into powerful / more capable processors is the Athlon II X4. Some of the earliest batches of these sub-$150 quad-core processors can be converted to more powerful Phenom II X4 chips using a simple trick. When unlocked, the chip will be equipped with 6 MB L3 cache. Supposed to have been based on the "Propus" core that physically lack a L3 cache, apparently early batches continue to use the "Deneb" core with L3 cache locked (using moist threads instead of a padlock). Currently there's no information as to which specific batches of Athlon II X4 620 and Athlon II X4 630 work. The trick works on some motherboards that support the Advanced Clock Calibration (ACC) feature. Simply set the ACC option in the BIOS setup to "Auto" from its default value of "Disabled", and you're done.
(Source)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2009, 04:08 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,826

My System Specs

Default

amd sliding the deal through ha ha great
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 02:00 AM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Lol... Moist threads
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Socket AM2 AMD Athlon X2 / Phenom CPU nakano2k1 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 October 20, 2008 03:43 PM
chips??? WolfBane Off Topic 41 July 23, 2008 09:09 PM
AMD releases two energy-efficient Athlon chips Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 April 22, 2008 01:31 PM
AMD Phenom, Barcelona Chips Hit By Lock-up Bug Shadowmeph Press Releases & Tech News 10 December 7, 2007 01:17 PM
AMD prepares its Phenom FX, Phenom X4 and Phenom X2 lineups Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 May 4, 2007 07:38 AM