Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2007, 09:18 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default DX10 is do-able on Windows XP

DX10 is do-able on Windows XP

It IS the inq, so not as reliable as others, but it seems a reasonable explanation.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2007, 02:26 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

I actualy don't doubt this. vista is getting very bad results from alot of "mom's and pops". Ya know who they are. The ones who go to futureshop and plop down $1000 on a "media" PC with vista premium. And of course it don't work right without "real" drivers aka ones you have to hunt down---BETA.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2007, 02:58 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,503

My System Specs

Default

I have always felt that DX10 should have been ported to XP and if you ask me, the features in Vista should have been a service pack for XP to change it over. I realize there are things in Vista that don't work under XP, but then again, there are things in Vista that just don't work. Just remember, there were people that liked Windows ME too, LOL!!!!!
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2007, 07:24 PM
J2TheROC's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunnyvale Trailer Park
Posts: 19
Default

Im not sure but i think the Alky project aims to do this...
So theres still hope! GO 19yr old programmers!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2007, 07:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default

It doesn't look like whoever wrote this has any idea of what they are talking about. DX10 in XP won't happen. Period. Direct X 10 uses a completely new driver protocol for interacting with the system. In order to make Direct X 10 work in XP you'd have to completely rewrite the XP kernel, and make yourself custom videocard drivers. Sure, it they might create something to interface with the video card but it'll never be the same as dx10. Don't forget this is the inquirer we are talking about.

Why would you want it on XP anyways? For those who think XP isn't going to die, who here is still using Windows 98 or Windows 2000?

DX7 was never ported to DOS.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2007, 08:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magice View Post
It doesn't look like whoever wrote this has any idea of what they are talking about. DX10 in XP won't happen. Period. Direct X 10 uses a completely new driver protocol for interacting with the system. In order to make Direct X 10 work in XP you'd have to completely rewrite the XP kernel, and make yourself custom videocard drivers. Sure, it they might create something to interface with the video card but it'll never be the same as dx10. Don't forget this is the inquirer we are talking about.

Why would you want it on XP anyways? For those who think XP isn't going to die, who here is still using Windows 98 or Windows 2000?

DX7 was never ported to DOS.
Heh......

I only ported over to XP when the nF4 chipset came out without `98 chipset drivers.

I suspect for me it'll be much the same with regards to changing from XP, however by then I expect either a DRM free Vista, or I'll just give up on PC gaming and move to Linux.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2007, 08:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Out of everyone who has ran vista, including myself have never had a problem with DRM. I've played my purchased songs, rips from cds, and downloads without a problem. Same with DVDs. Is there something I am missing?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2007, 09:22 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magice View Post
It doesn't look like whoever wrote this has any idea of what they are talking about. DX10 in XP won't happen. Period. Direct X 10 uses a completely new driver protocol for interacting with the system. In order to make Direct X 10 work in XP you'd have to completely rewrite the XP kernel, and make yourself custom videocard drivers. Sure, it they might create something to interface with the video card but it'll never be the same as dx10. Don't forget this is the inquirer we are talking about.

Why would you want it on XP anyways? For those who think XP isn't going to die, who here is still using Windows 98 or Windows 2000?

DX7 was never ported to DOS.
According ot ViperJohn on another forum its pefectly possible, and if I would trust ANYONE, it'd be him. Its still possible it might not happen, but from what I can see its perfectly possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magice View Post
Out of everyone who has ran vista, including myself have never had a problem with DRM. I've played my purchased songs, rips from cds, and downloads without a problem. Same with DVDs. Is there something I am missing?
Maybe. I experienced issues with it playing DVDs, but the DRM stuff is mostly related to BluRay and HD DVD in vista.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2007, 05:49 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magice View Post
Out of everyone who has ran vista, including myself have never had a problem with DRM. I've played my purchased songs, rips from cds, and downloads without a problem. Same with DVDs. Is there something I am missing?
That's because the full DRM features haven't yet been utilized by a content vendor.

The problem with Vista's DRM is that it gives content vendors the ability to turn off features of your computer, up to and including disabling hardware features.

They may not have used those abilities yet, but the very fact they exist mean that the content providers plan to use them in the future or they wouldn't be in there.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2007, 10:19 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,503

My System Specs

Default

DX10 is overhyped and very much overrated. The current crop of cards cannot run it properly and there is a DX10.1 already in the works. I mostly feel sorry for people that spent $600+ on these new killer cards that won't even run a DX10 game properly.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very high in DX9 vs DX10 magictorch Rumor Mill 16 January 11, 2008 09:44 PM
DX10.1, the end of Dx10 cards? magictorch Video Cards 9 August 20, 2007 10:12 AM
AMD's DX10...stinks? Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 7 June 5, 2007 07:23 AM
CoH2 to be DX10 and SM4 Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 5 April 11, 2007 08:26 PM
DX10 for Windows XP? Babrbarossa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 March 17, 2007 11:37 AM