Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 03:11 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,567

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ogdin View Post
Its all smoke and mirrors til we can get good info from a reputable site.
Exactly. It is not 'can they'? It is more 'Are they'?

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; May 11, 2009 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 03:14 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

More like:

"We have data on PCB only...with the power it provides, what can they do?"
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 03:36 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,567

My System Specs

Default

Not just that, you have to look at the install base of CPU's. Not to many instances with today's CPU's would you not be CPU limited by such a throughput. Even a i7 965 or whatevah they call it.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 03:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Heh. Well, cpus are jsut goingto get faster..AMD and Intel both have new stuff in teh works, or jsut released...i5 for Intel, and AMD is still rolling out AM3...3.6ghz quad from AMD seems to be a sweetspot. Yes, i7 is a far bit faster than AM3, but that's not the whole picture...

I think I fully understand what current limitations are in VGA ASIC design, and those specs don't say to me "HEY!!! LOOOK!!! THIS IS INNOVATION!!!".
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 04:36 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,567

My System Specs

Default

Yes, well I am suspect of the current trend towards more and more cores. Not only does introducing more cores decrease your chances of improving speed but we also see diminishing returns. Pure speculation on my part of course, but I have yet to see my quad fully availed of let alone my 3 year old Core 2 E6300.

Very few things have utilized SMP. UT3 saw a significant boost for me going from a Core 2 Duo to the Q6600. However, It's efficiency is still far and away from what I would consider optimal. Say ~ 70+%.

The complexities involved with syncing all those cores and all those GPU's is a daunting task to say the least and will only be further complicated by introducing more in the mix.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 04:46 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

True. But hceck otu anandtech's latest compare of 720BE overclocking VS Q6600...some of the graphs clearly illustrate how useful quads have become for gaming...FarCry 2 the perfect example.

Core 2 suffers a bit due to FSB communication between cores, and the northbridge-memory controller adding latency.

I have clear and concise view of how the solve teh multi-gpu issue, and quite different from what Lucid offers. AMD has already taken step to deal with the issue with RV7xx's sideport, which is also part of Hybrid Crossfire, but I envision a far different scheme...one requiring some fancy programming that I jsut don't see likely to be adopted in the near future...maybe 5 years out.


That all siad though, I haven't the slightest clue about RV870/R880...what was proposed 2 years ago may not be valid any more, given the current market.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 06:48 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,567

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
AMD has already taken step to deal with the issue with RV7xx's sideport
This should be interesting. Sort of like moving the mem controller from the NB to the CPU, in CPU terms. The Q6600 should have had a 'sideport', then we wouldn't need i7.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 06:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

How so? Sideport is akin to HT-link between cpus...seems self-explanatory why it's there, what it sohuld be used for, and why it hasn't been enabled in retail RADEON parts.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 06:52 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,567

My System Specs

Default

Yes, that's what I meant. ;) Currently with i975 the memory controller resides on the NB (northbridge). With i7 it is on die.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 06:54 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Damn ninja-edits.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forceware 177.39 leaked beta driver da_bradler O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 June 25, 2008 12:18 AM
Leaked 3G iPhone Pics Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 28, 2008 12:25 PM
More leaked slides of the 3850 from AMD! qwerty Rumor Mill 3 November 14, 2007 06:52 PM
Leaked Nvidia drivers 167.26 dukelod Video Cards 4 October 29, 2007 08:57 PM
ATi Catalyst driver 8.351 leaked on French site Babrbarossa Video Cards 14 April 1, 2007 10:12 PM