Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 07:52 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default fastest internet in the world

the new docsis 3.0 wow now whats wrong with north America Virgin Media pilots 200Mbit service ? The Register in the UK
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 08:17 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Verizon currently offers 100mbit fibre optic service in the states. It's called FIOS. Very expensive though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 08:23 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,562

My System Specs

Default

In all honesty though, how many home users really need that kind of throughput? The canadian version would probably have a 90G cap so you'd just be able to burn through it all the quicker..... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 08:26 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I need it, that's who. ;)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 08:31 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,562

My System Specs

Default

Heh....

I'm not saying I'd turn it down if I could get it. I'm already paying for the highest possible non-commercial package through rogers (although, I should look at that again.... I was more concerned with the 90G cap it got me than the speed... might be cheaper for me to go with the 60G cap since the max penalty for going over is $25).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 09:34 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

me too that's who and on the same package as sswilson. and squeetard they are testing docsis 100mb in upper new york as well so where's are's.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 09:36 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

and i am on the 90 gb a month and the max they charge me is 25 dollars over max. and if you have not read any of my threads i go way over every month. I mean last month usage was almost 1 terabyte
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 09:57 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,939

My System Specs

Default

I go over every month. But it bugs me that the rest of the world get faster Internet and is cheaper too. While the monopolies in north America want to suck as much money as possible. I mean free Internet in cheap hotels in japan are at 100mbs. The rest of the world doesn't have dial up. Russia's cellphone Internet is (off of my memory) 40mbs. India has faster connections. Austraulia is faster. Pretty much all of Europe have much faster internet and cheaper. Some countries even have laws to have free Internet because some people it is a need. I am getting tired of our companies raping us. Did you know that Rogers get over 1000% profit from text messages.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 01:27 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
I go over every month. But it bugs me that the rest of the world get faster Internet and is cheaper too. While the monopolies in north America want to suck as much money as possible. I mean free Internet in cheap hotels in japan are at 100mbs. The rest of the world doesn't have dial up. Russia's cellphone Internet is (off of my memory) 40mbs. India has faster connections. Austraulia is faster. Pretty much all of Europe have much faster internet and cheaper. Some countries even have laws to have free Internet because some people it is a need. I am getting tired of our companies raping us. Did you know that Rogers get over 1000% profit from text messages.
All very true and very sad welcome North America we lead in everything oh wait almost everything and are cars rock ha ha
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2009, 01:59 PM
Dave510's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure it's easier to have high speed internet for more people in Japan, at a cheaper price, because of the fact that they have a very high population density.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FASTEST USB drive? ImmaPC Storage 2 March 16, 2009 02:29 PM
So, the 2400PRO is the fastest... Dr_BenD_over Video Cards 4 November 20, 2008 05:50 AM
Fastest Computer Ever? Cptn Vortex Press Releases & Tech News 10 June 11, 2008 05:29 PM
"World's fastest" 4GB DDR2 kit by OCZ Wankerfx Press Releases & Tech News 9 April 11, 2008 12:45 PM
Corsair announces world's fastest DDR3 Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 8 June 5, 2007 02:45 PM