Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 05:38 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default AMD readies 50% Opteron price cuts

CHIP FIRM Advanced Micro Devices (former proprietor: William Jeremiah Sanders III) is readying price cuts on a range of its server chips.
On June 4th, the firm will cut Opteron 100/1000 prices from between 10 to 50 per cent. It said it has "a strong value proposition against the competition and these new prices will enable you to offer your clients AMD based server solutions at competitive prices."
The firm has notified its distributors of the price changes, so if you are a reseller, you know who to call.
Probably Avnet or Ingram. Or both.

From the Inquirer
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 05:59 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,234

My System Specs

Default

Unfortunately this will mean very little to the average user......

I stand to be corrected, but IIRC current opterons will not run on consumer boards. (too bad it's not S939 ones..... :) ).
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 06:05 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

The 12xx series Opterons will run on current AM2 boards, they are just not widely available like the S939 Opties were.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 06:14 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,234

My System Specs

Default

Well then..... maybe a hunt for supply should be made.... :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 01:42 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default lol get me one

SSWILSON if u find one let me kno i want the best bang for my buck with the sytem im building
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 08:15 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,234

My System Specs

Default

Ncix does have the 12XX series AM2 opties listed (learn something new every day... that's why I like it here!! :) ), but I'm unsure if there would be a benefit to running an opty over a standard AM2 dual core.

S939 opterons were prized because of the higher L2 cache and they also seemed to OC better (probably due to higher quality binning for server applications).
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2007, 05:31 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

Well, it is hard to OC any AMD higher than the current 3600+ CPU's seem to go. Even my "lame" 4800+ does 2.88GHz Otrhos stable @ 1.42V so there is more in the tank. Plus, AMD 64's never really cared about the extra cache unlike Intel which needs every single KB in their L2. It's a tossup. I have a spare 3600+ I am gonna test out one of these days because it does 3GHz+ with 1.4V. If I could sell my 4800+ for a decent price (I paid $250) I would, but noone is buying used Brisbanes these days........
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major AMD price cuts on July 9th? Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 7 July 9, 2007 11:13 AM
price cuts Unklmo CPU's and Motherboards 12 July 4, 2007 07:23 PM
More AMD price cuts Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 7 April 10, 2007 09:17 PM
More confirmation of AMD price cuts Shadowed Press Releases & Tech News 2 April 10, 2007 08:35 AM
Core 2 Duo price cuts in april with 2nd gen. pricing Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 0 February 22, 2007 07:46 AM