Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 01:47 PM
EaGle1337's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 419

My System Specs

Default Western Digital Ups Platter Density, to Launch 2 TB HDD

seems to have matched rival Seagate's per-platter storage density mark, with its 500GB platter technology. What's more, WD is planning to release a quad-platter hard drive totaling two terabytes of unformatted capacity before Seagate could achieve that feat with its Barracuda 7200.12 series. Seagate was the first to come out with a 1.5TB hard drive with four 375GB platters.
techPowerUp! News :: Western Digital Ups Platter Density, to Launch 2 TB HDD
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 01:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

And as I stated elsewhere.

If you plan to use the 2TB as a entire drive your going to be stuck to a few OSs that will support it because the only way to properly be able to use a 2TB drive is with an OS that can read GPT tables as MBR will no longer work.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 02:10 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362

My System Specs

Default

2TB is an aweful lot of data to be dependant on one drive. Get RAID-1 if you want this :P
__________________
Daily // 2.4GHz Mac Mini ::4GB :: 320GB HDD :: Apple Wireless Keyboard :: G5v2

Rig // PC-A7010 :: 1050W :: Rampage :: Q6600 :: 8GB :: GTX 260
X25-V :: 4x 1TB RAID-5 :: 2x 1TB RAID-1 :: 4x 1.5TB :: 1x 2TB
G15v2 :: MX-518 :: Xonar DX :: 7 Pro x64

2408WFP :: DT770/80 :: Onkyo TX-SR605 :: Klipsch RB-61 :: SVS PB10-NSD
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 02:11 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
And as I stated elsewhere.

If you plan to use the 2TB as a entire drive your going to be stuck to a few OSs that will support it because the only way to properly be able to use a 2TB drive is with an OS that can read GPT tables as MBR will no longer work.
Any system that I would put a drive like this in it, use already uses an OS that would support it, no issue.

All recent modern OSs(Mac OSX, Windows, Linux) I can think of, all support GPT tables.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 07:35 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
And as I stated elsewhere.

If you plan to use the 2TB as a entire drive your going to be stuck to a few OSs that will support it because the only way to properly be able to use a 2TB drive is with an OS that can read GPT tables as MBR will no longer work.
Plus isn't this only true for using this as your O/S drive? The only way I'd buy anything this large would be if I were to put it in my server. I find my WD 640GB Black was way larger than I would use, as all my storage goes onto my server. I think I'd have plenty of space with 2x 64GB SSDs in RAID0 (or 4x 32GB!!)
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 07:55 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

As former Seagate CEO Bill Watkins would say: "Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."

Is there any use for 2TB? I can't even use over half of my 640GB, and I barely used over 60% of my 250GB hard drive before I gave the whole comp to my sister.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 08:18 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
As former Seagate CEO Bill Watkins would say: "Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."

Is there any use for 2TB? I can't even use over half of my 640GB, and I barely used over 60% of my 250GB hard drive before I gave the whole comp to my sister.
Name:  hddd.jpg
Views: 223
Size:  10.0 KB

Easy, and thats only my main desktop. You should see my file server.

When I finally get around to building a new file server, hopefully these 2TB will be nicely priced!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 08:28 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

Chilly likes his porn
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 08:58 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia View Post
Chilly likes his porn
No comment.

Nah, its just filled with crap like this;
Name:  sparta11ps2.jpg
Views: 308
Size:  9.8 KBName:  avatar1499cr1.gif
Views: 246
Size:  42.4 KBName:  guitoune.gif
Views: 272
Size:  539.0 KB
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 09:02 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
No comment.

Nah, its just filled with crap like this;
Attachment 4119Attachment 4113Attachment 4115
LOL.


Why..?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] FS: Western Digital 300 GB Velociraptors zoob Buy/Sell & Trade 5 December 24, 2008 08:31 PM
Western Digital vs. Seagate darksideleader Storage 11 December 14, 2008 04:40 AM
Western Digital 640GB miggs78 Storage 9 September 7, 2008 08:17 PM
FS: Western Digital Raid Edition 500GB x Two elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 April 14, 2008 04:48 PM