Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 04:11 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

For AMD's sake, I'd rather their lineup competed with Penryn than with Conroe. A little too late for me, but it would nice if those overclocking claims had some truth to them.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 04:24 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,540

My System Specs

Default

Would be nice to be able to move to a new high-performing platform and be able to take your current DDR2 with ya...there is definitely a market for this. Something like the 4870s in the gpu market; high performing, decent value for the dollar.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 04:46 PM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Would be nice to be able to move to a new high-performing platform and be able to take your current DDR2 with ya...there is definitely a market for this. Something like the 4870s in the gpu market; high performing, decent value for the dollar.
I think this is AMD's new platform in general...let the other big boys have there big toys until they get there stuff together focus on your core focus on the major markets..one at a time rebuild yourself better.... faster..... stronger...sh..sh..sh.sh..sh..sh (or whatever the 6 million $ man sound effect looks like in type)
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 05:51 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Ya i think amd will just go for the mainstream and budget markets to rebuild then take one out of atis books where out of nowhere the decimate the "leader" and pretty much cripple them, it may take a few years but they can do it.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 11:48 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

you actually see the six million dollar man using all his powers? He always looked he was moving really really slowly LoL. I figure his augments must have been using AMD processors

Missed the quote from 2 up:P SOrries
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 08:00 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

Maybe, just MAYBE, AMD is working on a new chipset that "fuses" the power of the 4000 and 5000 series of GPUs with the next gen Phenoms to produce unprecedented power. MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA. lol. I could see this happening, though. That's the reason why AMD bought ATi. That's what the whole Spider platform was all about, but they couldn't get it going all that well...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 02:13 PM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

I dunno. I think there might be a comeback in the works.

On an "unrelated" note, here's an AMD processor overclocking video.

AMD PH**** ** Overclocking Video - Linus Tech Tips Blog
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2008, 02:22 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Nice clock on that mystery CPU

Do you think it has more headroom?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 08:24 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

I've been making heavy use of the Phenom 9950 BE lately due to its low price point compared to Intel's offerings (The last 2 9950s I used were $187 and $196 respectively when the Q6600 was going for $220 and $224). Both of them clocked up to at least 3 GHz without any increase in voltage (3.0 and 3.1 GHz respectively) and, because they're unlocked, I can use dirt cheap memory and not worry about compromising the overclock.

I've been pretty impressed with the motherboards as well (Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 and Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H) and, combined with 8/16 GB of memory and an HD 4830/4850, they are insanely quick in Vista, both systems were made for under $1200 before taxes.

The only thing I've found that's an issue is that AMD's Overdrive is not nearly as reliable as I hoped it would be. Actually, I had to reformat one of the computers because I couldn't remove the AMD Overdrive Assistant service, which kept overclocking on startup (I left it at 3.0 GHz, but the owner wanted to try 3.2 GHz), causing a BSOD and even manually setting the Multiplier in BIOS didn't prevent Overdrive from changing it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes