Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2006, 03:59 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default VIA Arena on Windows Vista: Aero explained

"There is a lot of anticipation about the new Microsoft Windows Vista. In fact I still find it hard to believe that Microsoft aren't going to be ready in time for Christmas sales but alas, I guess the 30 January launch date is the quickest they can make it to market. Still, OEMs already have the new operating system available and through a haze of certifications, logos, platforms solutions and levels of support, retailers are promoting their solutions as Vista ready.

There seems to be a lot of concern over just how well Vista will work on different levels of hardware. Some analysts were predicting that Vista will spark a new hardware upgrade frenzy the likes of which we haven't seen since Quake III and TNTs made headlines. A lot of this hype surrounds the shiny new graphical user interface (GUI) named Aero. This article will separate the fact from fiction, the myths from reality and the Aero GUI from the Basic GUI."






More @ VIA Arena
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2006, 08:17 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

still not sold on it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2006, 06:40 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

It's definitely a resource hog. I've tried it on many different systems from low end to high.

What i've found is for it to run really smooth you need 2gb's of ram a 6600 or equivalent Video Card and a Athlon64 3200+ or Pentium D 805 or better CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2006, 11:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

I ran the Vista Upgrade Advisor earlier this week and discovered that it will not work with my daemon tools running so I'll be passing until I see that daemon tools is running and stable with it.

I don't use daemon tools for illegal purposes.... I use it to run ISOs of my legally purchased software so that I don't burn out the play disk.

Once software, hardware (think sony) & content (think sony again... :) )companies realise that law abiding consumers want to exercise their backup/fair use legal rights maybe they'll get off of the drm bandwagon and we can get back to being friends again.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Windows Vista.... Supergrover Off Topic 6 June 26, 2007 02:31 PM
annoying windows vista bug cujo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 June 3, 2007 01:24 PM
Windows Vista Activation Cracked Yet Again Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 2 January 1, 2007 02:29 PM
Tech ARP reviews Windows Vista Final Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 5 December 13, 2006 07:30 PM
Does anyone know how to get a copy of Windows Vista Ultimate? I already have a key... Misoprostol O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 December 6, 2006 08:39 PM