Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 06:02 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

it's no different, jsut different names, and you must pay close attention to QPI speed. currently looks like first gen LGA 1366 cpus won't scale QPI too well, so unless you get an Extreme unlocked cpu, overclocking these isn't gonna be as rewarding as skt775.

zlojack already has the best he can get probably until this time next year...Although I heard wind of E8700 and E8800...
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 06:32 PM
Moneyless's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 303

My System Specs

Default

That is an awesome looking board.
__________________
"I hate broccoli
And think it totally sucks
Why is it not meat?"
-Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 06:33 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

E8800???

Wow...what would that be?

Following the line so far, E8700 would be 10.5 and the E8800 would have an 11 multi for 3.6 GHz..
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 06:41 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

no, 400FSB, like QX9770 ~ 8x and maybe 9x for E8800.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 08:14 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

E8800 would make sense from a marketing standpoint. You would be surprised what Intel has waiting in the wings just in case AMD happens to pull a rabbit and a litter of kittens out of its hat.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 08:40 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Considering development time, no, actually, I wouldn't.



Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 09:08 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Well...a 9x400 chip isn't as attractive as the E8600 with the 10 multi, considering that 400 FSB is very easy for most decent boards.

Why would someone with an E8600 want the lower multi and higher FSB of this theoretical E8800?

I guess if they weren't overclocking...
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 01:51 PM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Oh, I see...

Ugggh, thought it was DDR2.

Hadn't considered how the integrated mem controller would fit in to overclocking, it should give a good boost to performance. If they don't overclock as well, perhaps that will improve over time and won't matter much if a stock speed CPU is faster than an overclocked s775.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
Well, it's DDR3...so 1260 isn't that greeat

I'm getting acceptable bandwidth at that speed, but it won't do more than that. I've got a line on some very good sticks, so hopefully next week I'll have them in.


Well, the new tech is totally different. No more FSB.

So overclocking is quite different than on current Intel platforms. Somewhat more like AMD, from what I've heard.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2008, 05:42 AM
lemonlime's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 530
Default

Looks like an awesome board--I love the multimeter ports. Although it is unlikely to happen, it would be great if ASUS would include those on their lower-end boards too. I never trust sensor reported voltages.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2008, 06:46 AM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonlime View Post
Looks like an awesome board--I love the multimeter ports. Although it is unlikely to happen, it would be great if ASUS would include those on their lower-end boards too. I never trust sensor reported voltages.
don't put lots of hope on this. The ROG is precisely a serie for the enthusiasts and priced accordignly so if you want more features, the ROG is your only choice.

Remember that the ROG boards have temperature sensor headers as well
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes