Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 07:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,421

My System Specs

Default

Apparently there is a bios flash fix for this issue....

techPowerUp! :: VGA Bios Collection: ATI HD 4830 512 MB
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 07:41 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

But if they shipped with only 560SP enabled, only 560SP were tested, the other 80SP could be complete dud's.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 07:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,421

My System Specs

Default

I'm waiting to see if somebody reverse engineers the bios fix to see if the extra SPs can be enabled via bios flash as well. :)

(I know the original post suggested that they were hardware locked, but if it was this easy to fix, maybe the hardware lock is false...).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 07:58 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Good assumption sswilson, lets wait and see.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 08:03 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,624
Default

If these are out the retail channel, flashing your BIOS could void your warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 08:07 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,421

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
If these are out the retail channel, flashing your BIOS could void your warranty.
True... best to contact ATI tech support if a person has one of these and let them decide if you should flash the bios.

So far (from the few who've responded on the OP site) it looks like it's only ATI branded cards.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 07:38 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Over at Anandtech they believe that the crippled cards did not make it to retail partners: "They believe they know why this happened and so believe that there is no cause for concern over retail parts exhibiting this problem." Seems a bios update is supposed to fix the problem. AnandTech: Retesting the Radeon HD 4830: Too Few SIMDs Enabled
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 03:55 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,624
Default

Anandtech updated again: seems HIS is in on the action and has shipped retail samples with less than the optimal number of SPs. They have indicated they will provide a SOFTWARE BIOS flash to bring the card up to the proper performance. I wonder how many bricked cards that will result in.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 04:16 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Ouch. Yeah they say 400 of them shipped. I guess people who don't know better will never use GPU-Z to determine shader count, and will not get the card they thought. HIS I imagine would have to provide new cards for people who have a bad flash.

The software flashing part of the update is interesting....I wonder how many of those crippled shaders could be turned on?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes