Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 12:50 PM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default No Current Performance Ram to Run on Future Intel X58 and Core i7

I hope this is more of a safety first approach by Intel...

However this makes me very happy I didn't go with a DDR3 setup in hopes of Future use..

Performance RAM will damage your Nehalem - The INQUIRER

Now however the article on the other thread showing the benchmarking of the X58 Intel board shows the Ram voltage being able to be set all the way to 2.5 volts way above the supposed 1.7 volts maximum. ?????
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit


Last edited by cwestwell; October 6, 2008 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 01:10 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Maybe, maybe not. That an issue exists seems pretty definite, but I know Tony (OCZ) was suggesting that one of the reasons for the high voltages needed right now is because of Intel's FSB architecture. It's entirely possible that with Nehelam's QPI, less voltage will be needed for the same clocks.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 01:26 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 962
Default

The actual issue appears to be the voltage differential between the integrated memory controller and the memory.

So if you keep the vIMC at stock and increase the vDIMM to say 2.1V, then there's a chance for long-term damage.

However, increasing vIMC along with vDIMM may solve this problem.

Last edited by MAC; October 6, 2008 at 01:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 01:45 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Yup, just set your vIMC to 2.1V. Problem solved!
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:31 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

this is just another part of the whole rumour thats been going around about voltages and the controller being on the cpu; I'm really not giving it an validity esp cause it comes from our favourite reporter.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 02:41 PM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

I had read the rumor about the issue with the controller integration and a shared voltage....that was allready debunked this seems to be another kind of warning saying that you can...use performance ram and it will run at higher voltages then the CPU however they seem to be giving early warning to manufactures to lower there voltages or sell a product that will void the warranty of the CPU.
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 06:36 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default


Check out the voltages on these parts

Last edited by Babrbarossa; October 6, 2008 at 08:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 08:09 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

ahhh tear in my eye im soo glad i upgraded now lol ill wait for another year or soo till all these new gear comes down in price wayy too many new parts all willl be sold at a premium. But all these new technologies is almost making people move away from xp a 6gb ram kit will be absolutely waisted on an xp platform. Good ole xp!

Anyways will be interesting too see all this new technology working together. And btw 1.65 volts thats just crazzzy for ddr3 i cant wait too see what OCZ or Mushkin come out with.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2008, 10:12 PM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

Wow that's impressive ...good find 1.65V at 1333FSB and 1.75 @ 1600 I am impressed
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 07:04 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

I'm running mine 1600 9-9-9-24 2T @1.68. If I drop to 1333 I can get 7-7-7-20 1T with no problems at all. Though that's only dual channel.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes