Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 10:54 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default 620W Enough?

Hey all, I was just wondering if the Corsair 620HX is enough for two 4870s, an e8400, all on the Asus P5Q-E. If not, then I would to return the PSU since I bought it just recently.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 11:05 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

It would be close... too close for my comfort but it could probably do it. Depending on how much else your running off that rig.

for instance SKYMTL's review of the GTX 280 OCX shows the 4870's as needing 430 for the GPU's: BFG GTX 280 OCX 1GB Video Card Review

So with the rest of your stuff you should be fine with 620, but it could be close.

I would probably go for at least 750 if your running crossfire.
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 11:07 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Ahh.. Thats what I thought. I was also planning on OCing the E8400 on water to at least 4Ghz, so yeah. Should I return the PSU though? I'm not going to go CF for some time, so should I just buy a new 1000W when I feel its time to CF?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 11:14 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

If it isn't a hastle to just return the PSU, I would do it. You might be able to sell it just as easily on the forums (for less then the cost of returning it... should you have to pay for shipping.. and restocking... and such).

I'd go for 1000w, but you can always just sell the used 620 later when you want to crossfire, I dout you would take a huge loss on doing that. (meaning it probably does make more sense to keep the 620 for now, sell it later and get the 100w when you do need it... so long as your not planning on doing crossfire in the next couple months)
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2008, 11:21 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Well, actually, I was planning to CF right from when I buy my new computer. I might just sell it to a friend or to someone on the forums, because I lost the receipt for the PSU anyways. Well... What modular 1000W would you recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 12:17 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
Well, actually, I was planning to CF right from when I buy my new computer. I might just sell it to a friend or to someone on the forums, because I lost the receipt for the PSU anyways. Well... What modular 1000W would you recommend?
Corsair, of course. If you want to order out of province(to save PST), then here is a good deal. If you want to stay in BC, then here is good. GL
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 12:22 AM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

heh, most power estimates when picking a PSU are overinflated by a large margin. If you go with that 1000W after you've got it all running put it on a kill-a-watt and I'll bet you'll find it's not hitting half capacity.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 12:45 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
heh, most power estimates when picking a PSU are overinflated by a large margin. If you go with that 1000W after you've got it all running put it on a kill-a-watt and I'll bet you'll find it's not hitting half capacity.
Which is fine, as that's probably where the PSU is most efficient.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 05:08 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 240
Default

it would be close. but hell, my friend ran a e8400 at 4GHz, 4870, on a p45 DFI, AND WATER COOLED his cpu and video card, ALL ON A 530W PSU.....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 06:18 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Use this wattage calculator : eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5

The 620watt should be fine.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes