Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 11:13 AM
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Default any power chord on PSU works fine?

so i lost my power chord of a 850W PSU (it's a OCZ GameXStream 850W).

does it matter if i use another power chord (from other PSU) to run this?

like i'm concern if the thickness of my old cable would not suffice.

what do you guys think?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 11:15 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093

You're a music guy aren't you :)

Yes any power cord will do.
My Heatware![/SIZE][/FONT] | Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 11:21 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,997

Chord...haha. Yea just dont use it if it is thinner than a monitor cable, otherwise it might be really really cheap.
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
i5 4690K @ 4.5GHZ
SLI GTX 1070
12GB GSkill Ripjaws X 2133MHZ CL10
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 240GB Patriot Blaze SSD RAID0 :)
HP OMEN 32 1440p 75hz

Benq W1070 Pojector.

EK Supreme HF, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 11:24 AM
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7

lol! not really.. i didnt think that far tho~ just happened to be that way x]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 02:35 PM
Chos3n's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 746

My System Specs


Any cables are fine, unless you want more power then you can GET the MONSTER POWER CORD made with white lions hairs to allow maximum conductivity.
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card EVGA GeForce GTX 780
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 02:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,340

Yeah you could use any, but a big power supply like yours I'd suggest you get those big fat cables, 14 amps one!!.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes