Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 10:06 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 50
Default Enermax Pro 82+

So I'm thinking about getting this for my build
Specs
E8400
P5Q Deluxe
2 seagate 7200.11 320gb
pioneer sata dvd drive
Netgear wireless card PCI
7 case fans
4gb ddr2 ocz reaper x Pc2 8000
logitech x140 speakers
plus all the usual peripherals

Would an 625w enermax pro 82+ do the job?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 10:21 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 472
Default

why not go with a Corsair HX620 or a TX650?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 10:54 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,666
Default

Yup, it will do the job fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 11:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Yup, it will do the job fine.
I've just remembered, I forgot to put the video card in, its a 4870. It uses something like 294 watts at peak watts.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 11:29 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperFriedFish View Post
I've just remembered, I forgot to put the video card in, its a 4870. It uses something like 294 watts at peak watts.
Still fine, they're nice power supplies.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 11:36 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

I'm using one right now, Uber good PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 02:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Would I have enough watts left to upgrade in the future?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackquelegs
I'm using one right now, Uber good PSU.
What are your specs?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 12:29 AM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

At the moment:
Q6600 OC 3.0ghz Vcore 1.30V
OCZ Vista upgrade DDR2-800 5-5-5-15 2x2gb
Asus Maximus Formula
8800 GTX ACS3 (will change into 4870x2 or CF 4870 next month)
Enermax Pro82+ 625W
4x Scythe Ultra kaze 3000rpm
2x Harddrive
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 05:53 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

I went to eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5 and took the specs in your sig assuming you have 2 SATA hard drives and 1 optical drive & 3 random USB devices that pull power. It says you need 380w even with your q6600 oc'ed to 3ghz. With the video card upgraded to the power hungry GTX 280 it says 426w, in SLI 576w. 2 4870's in Crossfire was 515w and the 4870x2 wasn't listed.

A lot of people fall into the marketing hype of bigger is better - especially when it comes to power supplies. My advise to anyone - Choose a quality one for your needs with some breathing room. Everything is listed at max. load and you would have to be stressing ALL your components to the max to ever hit that. Video cards are listed with high requirements so they can cover their asses. Your enermax will do you for a while in my opinion.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 11:41 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 50
Talking

Awesome, on the extreme psu calculator I got 329w. Yeah so I guess I'm ok. Ordering tonight(probably morning in Canada???) Finally

God Bless Canada
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes