Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 11:12 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default Corsair VX550 Enough?

A friend of mine's PSU died on him. He has the following system:

AMD Athlon 5000 BE @ 3.2GHz
AC Freezer 64 Pro
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe
OCZ NVIDIA SLI Ready XTC 4GB PC-6400
EVGA 9600GT in SLI
250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA
LG 18X DVD Burner
Antec 900 Case with 3x120mm and 1x200mm fan.

He wants to know if a Corsair VX550 will be enough to run this?
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 11:30 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

I have a HX620W that I just replaced by the HX1000W... it's looking for a new home.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 04:52 PM
cmhyt's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thornhill(Toronto)
Posts: 66
Default

just got one screwed some how......=_=,,
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 05:16 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

In a word.... no. At stock settings (no OC) and only one 9600 i'd say he'd be fine. But with an OC to 3.2 and two 9600's in SLI he'll need something beefier. The 620HX could work as a bare minimum replacement but I'd personally go for something a lil higher than that so the power supply never goes above 70-80% load. Just my two cents.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 06:24 PM
Leclerc's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rouyn-Noranda (Qc.)
Posts: 110
Default

CMetaphor is right. With an OC cpu, SLI and 4gb of ram, a 550w, even if it's a really good psu, will be to short. The HX620W will be better and if you can get it used from 3.0charlie it will probably be a really good deal with the advantage it is modular. The VX650W will be good to and the VX750W a better choice leaving enough place for upgrade.
__________________
Leclerc

AthlonX2 4600+ @ 3.0Ghz (tweaked by Ebdoradz) | Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 | 2x1GB Mushkin HP PC2-6400 @ 860Mhz | Silverstone Strider 500W PSU | Palit Radeon HD 3850 @ 720Mhz/1.76Ghz on 22" Acer X223w monitor | Thermaltake SopranoRS 101 | 1 x Seagate 250GB
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2008, 01:05 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
In a word.... no. At stock settings (no OC) and only one 9600 i'd say he'd be fine. But with an OC to 3.2 and two 9600's in SLI he'll need something beefier.
5A/card and you need something beefier than an Corsair VX550? You have 41A on +12V. My God, you can power easily a pair of HD4850 with that PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 09:06 AM
calvary1980's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 73
Default

you will be more than fine. here are some examples of what the 450VX can power.

Quote:
DFI DK T2RS// Intel E8200@3.8ghz// 2x2gb Corsair DHX // Nvidia Gainward 8800GT 512mb dual-slot//Raid 0 2x250GB WD 2500YS // Creative Audigy 7.1/24biti // Corsair 450VX // Antec SLK3000B -> All on Vista x64
Quote:
Q6600 @ 3.2ghz w/ Tuniq Tower 120 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L |
2gb Super Talent PC6400 | BFG 8800GT OC 512mb (740/1854/1980) w/ Accelero S1 Turbo |
Corsair 450VX PSU | Cooler Master Elite 330 Case | Windows XP Pro | 3dMark06 14,716
Quote:
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0 Ghz 45nm Wolfsdale Evga Nvidia 8800GT 512mb GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L Rev. 2.0 LGA775 Corsair DDR2 2 GB Ram 4-4-4-12 Coolermaster 690 Case Corsair 450VX PSU Samsung 500 GB Spinpoint hard drive Dual layer Dvd Burner Vista Ultimate
Quote:
E4600 Gigabyte P35-DS3L 4Gb G.Skill PC6400
eVGA 9800GTX Corsair 450VX Scythe Ninja GPU: Accelero S1, Custom unisink set
- Christine
__________________
Cooler Master RC-690 | Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W | 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F Fans, EK-MultiOption 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT | Abit IP35-Pro | Intel Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz | 2x1GB OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 | Inno3D Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 06:12 AM
khelben1979's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 41
Default

If noise is something that matters to you. You should go up higher in watts.

I would recommend the CorsairTX at 750W. I know it's a bit exaggerated, but... for future upgrades and especially if you like to run graphic cards in S.L.I, buying a high rated powersupply is nice and it keeps the noise level down too.

I don't know if it's smarter to buy an CorsairTX at 750W than the CorsairTX at 650W if one looks at the electricity bill, I'm uncertain, but I think that getting a high rated powersupply would be bad if the power requirement isn't needed, especially since most powersupplys(according to DriverHeaven) isn't very effective at low power consumption levels.

My CorsairTX at 650W is at most efficient at 40-50% of maximum load on the powersupply. The efficiency here is at 84-85%.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 01:28 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

I'd get a PSU about 700W. ocz gamexstream 700W is a solid psu. I've had 1 for a year, and it runs fine, other than me accidentally spilling cooling fluid on it while it was running :P It still works even after that.

cavalry, those PCs only have 1 gpu... he needs more power. If the psu goes, it could take many other parts with it.. not worth it.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2008, 02:56 AM
calvary1980's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 73
Default

the failure rate of Corsair Power Supplies have to be the lowest. 550VX has 41 Amps on the 12v rail it's built like a tank it has Chemicon primary and secondaries it's not going anywhere. you of all people should appreciate it they are in your power supply :)

- Christine
__________________
Cooler Master RC-690 | Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W | 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F Fans, EK-MultiOption 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT | Abit IP35-Pro | Intel Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz | 2x1GB OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 | Inno3D Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB

Last edited by calvary1980; July 26, 2008 at 03:11 AM. Reason: Nippon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes