Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2007, 01:20 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Arrow Power Supply Calculator

This is a nice tool for checking your power requirements.
Just fill in the chart and see what you get.

eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5

Note: Be sure to add the Capacitor Aging bottom right end of chart as it will improve accuracy.

Cheers

Last edited by Shadowed; April 7, 2007 at 01:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2007, 02:27 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Heh.....

According to that I'm gonna need a new PSU if I want to plug anything into the USB port..... :)

(597W)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2007, 02:47 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

hmmm.... lol
maybe its not as accurate as they claim but it worked pretty good for my sons system when he was having problems.
I bought him an HP system last year -onboard video and 512mb ram. We added a 7600gs and 512 ram and started having power issues. ie: shutting down intermitently.

I checked his system on there and it showed him needing 320w.
The psu that came with his system was 300w max. (actually, the label on the psu said 'shall not exceed 268w')
We upgradded psu and everything has been good since.

Last edited by Shadowed; April 7, 2007 at 03:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2007, 03:05 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

It's probably not all that far off. The figure it's giving is Peak requirement if every part of the system is drawing max.

My cpu is listed as drawing 2X its normal power while OC'd, and the 4X120+5X80 fans I'm running probably don't help either. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2007, 03:08 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Nice overclock btw. :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2007, 03:14 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

Thanks, (It is OCDB'd)

I got lucky with the stepping.

2.8's not too shabby on yours either... maybe we should start a hardwarecanucks ultra-d fanclub. :)

Wish I could squeeze something out of this ram though.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2007, 03:19 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

sswilson: What stepping do you have. My opti 144 has CAB2E 0548FPMW. I did some checks and apparently people have been getting 2700 out of it.

Shadowed: What HP system did you buy your son. The one I have is the Pavilion a420n .
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2007, 03:27 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

I had absolutely no luck at all with ocz ram (Platinum EL ddr400 cl2-3-2-5)
I switched back to the original 2 sticks I had and got some speed out of this cpu again.

Probably because I know nothing about oc'ing ram though.

I set ram back to 333 and went 255x11 on the multiplier. I have no idea if this is the proper way to do it.
I bought this board and cpu for messing around with.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2007, 03:30 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Can't remember the exact stepping on mine... it had a 'Y' in it . It wasn't one of the better ones apparently.

Sons system is A1210n
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2007, 03:31 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,418

My System Specs

Default

KAB2E 0602GPEW

Here's my entry "over there"......

DIY-Street Forums - View Single Post - Socket 939 Overclocking Database
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub $100 power supply advice... Mumbly Power Supplies 0 March 5, 2008 03:55 PM
Motherboard or Power Supply enaberif Troubleshooting 1 September 12, 2007 05:37 AM
Is my power supply enough? Shepherd Power Supplies 3 August 19, 2007 09:32 PM