Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2017, 09:25 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 224

My System Specs

Default DELL psu connections

Hey guys, so my dell xps 700 psu is on the fritz. Constant random restarts..

Anyway I have a brand new corsair psu lying around but of course DELL has to add a second 20 pin connection.

The 24pin on the corsair matches...

My question is, would it be possible to cut off the wire from the dell psu 20pin connection and some how jerry rig it to the corsair psu?

Im guessing no, not safe and so on but who knows..

Just i dont want to scrap the entire rig just because of a lousy psu, I was hoping on giving the pc to my mother inlaw for basic web surfing use..

I wonder if its worth buying the "new" dell xps 700 psu's I see on ebay for 100$... or just let this otherwise completely functional pc die
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2017, 11:02 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 449
Default

How about this one?https://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-XPS-70...8AAOSw4GVYJNCk

Cheap enough to not be worth hacking up your new Corsair maybe.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2017, 06:14 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 224

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I was thinking i could maybe create some sort of adaptor that i could plug into a few molex connectors or something..

Im not sure I want to buy a used one though, Risky no? Esspecially from a machine that came out 11years ago?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2017, 07:27 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 449
Default

You could do that. Just verify the pin out of that extra 20 pin and be careful with your connections.

I'm not familiar with that unit. What is with the extra 20 pin?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2017, 08:17 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,376

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyrie View Post
You could do that. Just verify the pin out of that extra 20 pin and be careful with your connections.

I'm not familiar with that unit. What is with the extra 20 pin?
It's probably a throwback to the bad old days of Dell using proprietary pin-outs on their PSUs.

As far as the OP goes... what hardware are we talking here? Chances are you'd be just as well served to replace the motherboard with a non-proprietary one.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2017, 09:58 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
It's probably a throwback to the bad old days of Dell using proprietary pin-outs on their PSUs.

As far as the OP goes... what hardware are we talking here? Chances are you'd be just as well served to replace the motherboard with a non-proprietary one.

That's what I was thinking and that means verifying the pin-out of the 24 pin also. The OP already has the Corsair, so cobbling an adapter would probably be cheapest if a slight pain.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2017, 05:00 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3,907

My System Specs

Default

I think there are some adapters on Aliexpress. Hardware wise XPS 700 is Core Duo Extreme 8600 and 7900 GTX SLI, with DDR2, so really old tech.
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; October 30, 2017 at 05:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2017, 09:51 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 224

My System Specs

Default

Yes we are talking some real old tech, I could get a cheap 775 mobo, but all the fans are proprietary as well
Plus I would have to mod the case to fit a non BTX board...

What do i have to do , verify the voltage of each wire?

If I cant make my own, what am I looking for adapter wise?

Thanks for the replies guys !
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2017, 09:56 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,099
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danmitch1 View Post
Yes we are talking some real old tech, I could get a cheap 775 mobo, but all the fans are proprietary as well
Plus I would have to mod the case to fit a non BTX board...

What do i have to do , verify the voltage of each wire?

If I cant make my own, what am I looking for adapter wise?

Thanks for the replies guys !
Throw up some pictures
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2017, 10:10 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 224

My System Specs

Default

Actually, the new 775mobos are roughly the same price as the new dell psu So I wont go the motherboard swap route..

I found this thread, Its kinda exactly but the reverse of what I need to do ( with pics )

https://forums.anandtech.com/threads...rsion.2293137/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PWM Y cable connections rfielder Water Cooling 1 November 12, 2013 08:05 AM
Need help to find connections Griezz Video Cards 5 August 19, 2012 08:44 PM
Legacy Connections _dangtx_ Off Topic 8 July 13, 2011 03:34 AM
HELP Fan connections with CM932 case? johndh New Builds 3 December 15, 2009 09:49 PM
680i sata connections Unklmo Troubleshooting 6 August 2, 2007 09:25 PM