Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 11:49 AM
elninio's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 174
Default 750 watt for under 50$ ? Required for idiotic idea

Note: purely experimental, might be a bit of lulz in there too. I will be testing some algorithms, custom waterblocks and watercooling loop

I'm going to overclock 2 quads G0 to 4ghz on water (success not guaranteed) on two different setups. GTX360 supersaturated with fans, providing cooling for the CPUs only. I may decide to stick the rad in a minifridge when I move back on campus, provided expected OC doesn't occur. Video cards will be minimal. Ram will be maximal, but not cooled on water. DDR2 expected for cost savings, unless I DDR3 really drops in price.

Its going to be a protein folding unit. Its going to be two mobos in one case. By how much would wattage vary if I were to purchase a serverboard (dual CPU) with 8 or 16 DIMM slots and populated it similarly to two separate single mobos.

My last desktop had a 600watt I got for 25$ , is there 750 watt for under 50$? If not what is the cheapest after that. When I bought my current case it came with a 550W, i opted to save 10 bucks by refusing to take it (well I would never have gotten to use it, and it would take too much effort to sell it). I will of course make adjustments to the whole system to avert a meltdown.

Yes. Yes, I am delusional and maniacal. I will be accepting premature epitaphs for this PSU in question...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 12:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 104
Default

a 650w for 25 is a very bad idea. ill pretty much guarantee its a bad psu and will probably take parts when it goes. any pc parts in a mini fridge will kill it. you cab get QUALITY psu's for cheap that will run a q6600
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 12:13 PM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

Agreed its kind of like looking for the cheapest source of blood for your transfusion... not the best place to skimp for high OCs. You need to purchase way more watts than you think you need, so that your parts have maximal headroom to deal with current spikes, etc.
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 12:52 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Also server boards are not designed for Overclocks.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 07:51 PM
elninio's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 174
Default

just tell me where I can get one
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 07:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 104
Default

if you ask for advice, my advice is to take it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 09:05 PM
elninio's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flclisgreat View Post
if you ask for advice, my advice is to take it.
No, I've asked for answers to my specific questions, but you're advice is appreciated. I've considered it before, sorry I did not mention this. The only way I can afford to get this done is by cutting corners. I am willing to take this risk. The generic powersupplies that I've used in the past have have had loose molex pins which have caused sparks. I will inspect the unit before running it.

Would you also happen to know where I may get cable sleeving in the Toronto area? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 09:38 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

my advice is spend the extra money and get a good PSU like this one
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=CORSAIR
or this one
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...Z%20Technology
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware

Last edited by yycraven; May 31, 2008 at 09:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2008, 10:17 PM
elninio's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
my advice is spend the extra money and get a good PSU like this one
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=CORSAIR
or this one
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...Z%20Technology
You're right, those are good. But then I would need to get something like 900+ watt if I were to do things 'right'. Antec quattro looks really good, and its energy efficient too..Ah sucks to be poor..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2008, 05:40 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

You could probably get a 750W for a few bucks at Tigerdirect but make sure to take pictures of the fireball.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes